Author Topic: Broadcast (Wideband) FM Receiver Design  (Read 4572 times)

Offline igniluxTopic starter

• Supporter
Broadcast (Wideband) FM Receiver Design
« on: March 14, 2019, 04:32:17 pm »
Hi, all-

I'm an EE student in my late twenties, having returned to school after becoming deeply passionate about hobby electronics over the last 5 years or so. Recently, I've been bitten by the RF bug. There's something so intriguing about knowing the secrets of what other, smarter people refer to as "black magic". Anyway, I've done the typical crystal radio, amplified crystal, litz antenna coil with inductive coupling to an amplified 1N5711-based detector, RF amplifier, etc etc. That was fun and all, but AM radio is only so interesting. SO! Without further ado-

My next/current project is building a wideband FM receiver for the broadcast band here in the States, i.e., 88 to 108 MHz. I realize that there are all-in-one IC's that can do everything for me, but I'd like to stick to basic building blocks. PLLs, mixer ICs, amplifiers, etc. I also want to keep the signal path as analog as possible. My initial thoughts were to use a superhet architecture, mixing the RF input with a VCO (for tuning) to get a low IF, say, 5 MHz. Feed that to a PLL with a center frequency of 5 MHz, and the error signal becomes the baseband. But... then I learned about image frequencies.