Author Topic: Building a 10GHz band HAM tranciever from hughes VSAT hardware  (Read 2250 times)

Offline AmperTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Hi!

A while ago i found a whole lot of used Hughes VSAT outdoor units on my local scrapyard. Obviously i had to rescue them not knowing what to do with them. These units turned out to be pretty neat Ku Band transmitters and the LNBs fit the needs of the 3cm band perfectly so over the last weeks i poked around inside of them a bit disabling the interlocks and converting them to work on the 3cm band both ways.

As some requested i will now write down some of my findings in this thread so if you get your hands on similar hardware you may not have to do all this work yourself.

First of all i will have to give credit to all the people in the first thread for helping me as this is my first time dealing with such frequencies and i had to learn a lot along this Project. (i still dont claim to be an expert and i have definitely not understood all that i have done here but wth its for learning anyways.)
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/rf-microwave/changing-ghz-vco-frequency-range/

The second thanks goes out to some guy who previously used one of these units but only using the PA stage cutting away the other parts of the boards to build a 10GHz beacon. I used his work to understand the basics and get started on mine.
www.ka7oei.com/10gig_1watt_vsat_PA.html
(it seems to be offline atm, lets hope it will come back)

If you notice some mistakes i did or have suggestions feel free to tell me. I will write this as a summary of what i have done so far but im pretty sure there are people around here who can teach me a few much appreciated things!

(I will keep posting, dont worry, dont have much time recently)
« Last Edit: April 30, 2019, 12:10:01 pm by Amper »

The following users thanked this post: CaptainObvious, TheSteve

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Building a 10GHz band HAM tranciever from hughes VSAT hardware