Electronics > RF, Microwave, Ham Radio

coaxial cable vs waveguide for 2.4ghz magnetron project?

(1/2) > >>

Nitrous:
Hi folks,

I don't think this question has been asked (I hope not, anyway) but I'm trying to work out a microwave plasma torch based on a 2.4ghz magnetron (salvaged microwave oven).

I did s-band dielectric studies way, way back when (i was a phys chem grad student) but wondered if there was a practical way to couple a simple coaxial plasma torch to a magnetron.  ie with coax rather than waveguides. 

I'm not much of a sheet metal fabricator - but have basic electronic skills that have managed to outlive my anesthesia career... :)

Any suggestions/direction/links would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Doug

stephen_g:
First of all, be incredibly careful. The transformer driving the magnetron produces extremely high voltage, and its output is isolated so you lose any protection from an RCD/GFCI. Wikipedia cites at least 33 accidental deaths from electrocution of hobbyists trying to use microwave oven transformers for fractal wood burning.

So as far as I can tell, the output of the magnetron is basically a transition that goes into a rectangular waveguide - http://ffden-2.phys.uaf.edu/631fall2008_web.dir/ness_S/works2.html. You could basically create a bit of waveguide with a hole for the magnetron, make sure it's well gasketed and bolted on tight, and then you could get an off the shelf transition like this - https://www.stepelectronics.com.au/product/s-band-wr284-waveguide-to-coax-adapter-with-n-type-connector/. We usually CNC our waveguide adaptor sections in two halves to have a good mating surface to things like this, but it could be done perhaps with a milled end piece and then the waveguide made of sheet metal and welded on.