Author Topic: Adapting optical fiber input to a lens or free space  (Read 1451 times)

Offline JohnGTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Adapting optical fiber input to a lens or free space
« on: June 02, 2018, 01:45:41 pm »
I'm looking to see if there is a way to use an O/E receiver that has a fiber optic input to be able to sense free space light, i.e. some kind of adapter that has a lens, or could be fitted with a lens.

Also, if anyone can recommend a book on practical optical measurements, I would highly appreciate it. I have some RF background, and a lot of optics seems at least somewhat analogous, but I have a lot to learn here.

Many thanks,
John
"Reality is that which, when you quit believing in it, doesn't go away." Philip K. Dick (RIP).

Offline awallin

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Adapting optical fiber input to a lens or free space
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2018, 03:42:59 pm »
you are going to need a high-brightness source like a laser or possibly a LED.
Multimode-fiber with several 100 um core is probably the way to start, with a short focal-length lens (5-20 mm maybe) or even a ball/bead of glass.

these might help:
https://www.thorlabs.com/newgrouppage9.cfm?objectgroup_id=10417
https://www.newport.com/n/fiber-optic-coupling

with a laser-source it is reasonably straightforward to couple into a 5-10um single-mode core if you have good lenses and mechanics to move the lens or fiber by tiny adjustments - but for a beginner it's a steep learning curve..

"building electro-optical systems" by Philip Hobbs is quite practical, with both optics, detection, and electronics (maybe a bit like horowitz&hill ?).
For basic optics try "optics" by Hecht.

cheerio!

Offline ejeffrey

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2018, 05:15:23 pm »
+1 on building electro optic systems. 

Why do you need the fiber?  Is your detector fiber coupled naturally, do you need fiber optic components like switches, or do you just need your detector to be remote from the light?