Author Topic: DCF77 / TDF receiver - critique my first design  (Read 4478 times)

Offline faust1002Topic starter

• Contributor
DCF77 / TDF receiver - critique my first design
« on: February 16, 2020, 06:43:15 pm »
Hello guys,
I am an embedded software developer working on various different radio access technologies, like LTE and NR. After several years in this industry I decided to design my own piece of hardware. I wanted it to be related to RF and at the same point simple enough for a beginner.
Short theory of operation
1. I have no idea what input signal level expect. Furthermore, based on what I found, this may vary depending on a location and a direction of an antenna. Therefore I don't know how much gain I need. That is why I decided to use a digital potentiometer (U5) to set gain digitally. Furthermore, an operational amplifier (U4A) acts as a differential amplifier to set a virtual ground for the gain stage (U4B).
2. I want to use single voltage rail, therefore I must use an inverting configuration (at least this is my understanding).
3. I initially thought about designing DCF77 receiver, but then I learnt that there are other similar standards, like TDF for instance, operating in a similar frequency bands. Therefore finally I decided to create an analog fronted, which is capable of receiving a wideband signal between 50kHz - 200kHz (Butterworth filter, U4C and U4D), roughly speaking. Then I will do additional digital filtering to get my signal of interest.
My requirements and extra comments.
1. I am a software developer, not hardware designer. This means that I don't necessary know what I am doing :)
2. I haven't simulated my design yet. I want to know if I go in the right direction and what alternatives I have before I will put more time in this project.