Author Topic: Design & Test RF links  (Read 1105 times)

Offline Ralphy007Topic starter

• Contributor
Design & Test RF links
« on: July 06, 2021, 04:08:24 pm »
I work in the Water Industry were we use radio links for telemetry/SCADA purposes. In order to find a viable link, a desktop study is completed using “path profile” applications which is backed up by an actual on site radio test. Any help in the form of webinars, paperwork or courses would be most welcome.

The telemetry links are in the 460 MHz range, while some other SCADA sites would be in the range of a couple of GHz

At home, I use the Radio Mobile app. for path profiles which I believe uses the Longley Rice model.

I am also wondering about the actual on site radio test and what measurements to take. I can calculate Fade Margin and I think 20 dB is a good target to aim for. I can also get figures for system availability/reliability and again, I think well over 99% is a good target to aim for ?

Unfortunately I dont have any experience of doing this work and therefore want to be sure the figures I am getting are going to provide a link that is viable. Do you know of any documents/standards that I can refer to which give details on how to carry out the radio tests and what measurements to record etc.

Offline 1design

• Regular Contributor
Re: Design & Test RF links
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2021, 05:52:49 pm »
I do something similar as part of my job in a different industry.

The first question you need to ask is how will the links be used.
What is the payload size and data frequency, how important is the data, can you miss packets, is the data UDP or TCP/IP type with an option to resend?

99% is not a good reliability figure, carrier grade is six 9s, so 99.9999% reliability over the year. You might need a lot less, all depending on your use case.
To do path planning I personally use SiteSync Pro from WAC as a quick and dirty start point and than move to Pathloss for a more detailed design.