Author Topic: DIY 446mhz PMR Handheld Antenna?  (Read 7830 times)

Offline dexters_labTopic starter

• Supporter
DIY 446mhz PMR Handheld Antenna?
« on: January 29, 2016, 05:46:39 pm »
i have a baofeng uv5r that i have tuned only to the PMR channels, which are on 446mhz

the supplied short 'rubber duck' style antenna is generally regarded as shit and ebay is full of fake aftermarket antennas for this radio that seem to be no better

given i have no experience with RF and no suitable equipment for testing would it be possible to rip out the existing spring in the stock baofeng antenna and make my own, tuned to 446mhz?

Offline johnkenyon

• Regular Contributor
Re: DIY 446mhz PMR Handheld Antenna?
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2016, 06:02:37 pm »
i have a baofeng uv5r that i have tuned only to the PMR channels, which are on 446mhz

the supplied short 'rubber duck' style antenna is generally regarded as shit and ebay is full of fake aftermarket antennas for this radio that seem to be no better

given i have no experience with RF and no suitable equipment for testing would it be possible to rip out the existing spring in the stock baofeng antenna and make my own, tuned to 446mhz?

You do realise there's a limit on the ERP for PMR446, hence the crap two mile/3km line of site range.

Offline dexters_labTopic starter

• Supporter
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2016, 08:44:06 pm »

You do realise there's a limit on the ERP for PMR446, hence the crap two mile/3km line of site range.

yes, i am aware of that and the other limitations, output power etc

Offline Lord of nothing

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2016, 08:26:12 pm »
1) no removal Antenna is allowed
2) no more than 0,5W

so any Baofeng is ilegal on 446.  :=\
Made in Japan, destroyed in Sulz im Wienerwald.

Offline SeanB

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2016, 08:40:24 pm »