Author Topic: Doubt on using a SWR meter for SDR transmitter  (Read 999 times)

Offline AlejosTopic starter

Doubt on using a SWR meter for SDR transmitter
« on: January 09, 2024, 03:55:36 pm »
Hi all,

I am a very amateur guy just starting working on HAM projects and I have a simple question that I cannot solve. I am using a transceiver based on a SDR transmitter (LimeSDR) connected to a 20W power amplifier and then the antenna.

I want to measure the SWR at the output of the power amplifier and that is my doubt. If I am using a digital modulation (2FSK in my case), is it possible to use any SWR meter (I am using DG-503) in the correct band or should I use a specific SWR meter for digital modulations/signals?

I guess I don't understand how the SWR measuring works with digital signals...

In case I need a specific SWR meter for digital signals, could you recommend me any?

Thank you very much in advance for your help.

Alejos

Online radiolistener

• Super Contributor
Re: Doubt on using a SWR meter for SDR transmitter
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2024, 04:08:50 pm »
In order to properly measure SWR, you're needs to transmit continuous CW carrier. Any modulated signal is not good for VSWR measurement, because it is represented with variable signal, so your measurements will be variable.

If your transmitter don't have CW, you can use FM modulation with silence on the mic. For SSB you're needs to transmit stable sine tone (for example 700 Hz or 1 kHz)
« Last Edit: January 09, 2024, 04:11:11 pm by radiolistener »

« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2024, 04:18:01 pm »
Hi Radiolistener,

Thanks for your reply. The problem is that I try to do that just sending a continuous tone modulated in FSK, that is, I send all 1's so the carrier will be only one tone but the SWR meter does not work, it says that I am transmitting 90W although the SWR measure seams good (1.2), but the power is completely wrong. I would expect to measure around 10 Watss, no 90W.