Electronics > RF, Microwave, Ham Radio

dumb question about JT-65

(1/4) > >>

djacobow:
So, I'm pretty new to amateur radio and have been having fun learning the ropes. I've been experimenting with JT65 and I have a question that is a bit provocative, but I hope won't stir up any anger.

Thing is, it really only works if the stations communicating have very accurately -- like sub-second -- synced clocks. Which is all well and good, except that the practical ways to achieve such synchronization (NTP, GPS, whatever) all involved communications with a third party -- in a sense, an out-of-band signal.

So, my question is, isn't that sort of cheating? I mean, is a JT-65 contact really a contact at all?

I understand that lots of contacts benefit from some kind of advance coordination (ie, "the net is on Friday's at 9am" or "I'll be operating from <small_island_nation> from <date> to <date>) but that seems qualitatively different than JT65, which, at least for me, does not work unless I sync my computer's clock pretty much right before use.

AF6LJ:
When you consider the role the Internet plays in other amateur radio activities such as DX'ing with the DX spotting sites and such, D-Star, C-4 Internet enabled communications and Winlink You could make the argument that JT-65 is much less on the Internet than other modes...
You could do away with the Internet and other external sources at least in theory.

TheSteve:
I tend to agree there is something not quite right about it. I like to think of radio as being purely radio, no help from the internet, GPS etc.
However that is clearly not the way things are as the internet is such a part of most peoples daily lives so you may as well roll with it.

djacobow: