Author Topic: Hobbyist RF amp design approach  (Read 8642 times)

Offline TeknowTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Hobbyist RF amp design approach
« on: May 16, 2017, 09:45:46 am »
I have been searching in a lot of RF design books, application notes, data sheets, and internet sites for a comprehensive and empirical approach to bias RF transistors to be able to design a multistage RF amplifier but still in vain. I miss an approach in reference to certain transistors and their specifications.
These transistors are mainly from Philips (NXP) for example:
BFG520, BFG540, BFR92, BFR93 etc. and AVAGO AT42086 among others.

After some experimenting and learning I could design circuits depending on certain criteria depicted from the data sheet.
Though essential for stability, I intentionally overlook the mathematics concerning stability as it is beyond my comprehension at the moment.  I started learning about impedance matching, smith charts and Sparameters, but sometimes I get stuck in the abstract of confusion.

The approach I adopted (adapted) in designing my circuits is as follows:
1. I refer to the GUM and relevant curves in the data sheet of a transistor and adopt that Ic, Vce, and gain (marginally!).
For example the GUM for the BFR93A is 13dB when Ic=30mA, Vce=8V and f=1GHz.
2. I calculate Ib by dividing Ic on the typical value of Beta from the data sheet.
3. Then I multiply that by 10 for Ib and Ibb.
4. R1= (Vcc-0.65-Ve)/ Ib+Ibb
5. R2= Ve+0.65/ Ibb
6. Re= Ve/ Ic (for a small signal transistor I let Ve= Vce/ 10.
7. Rc= Vce/ Ic.

Imagine I built two identical stages using the BFR93A, and a medium power stage using the BFG135, or the BFG196, or BFG198 etc.

For the BFG198, I follow the above mentioned steps but sometimes I make Ve=0 to get more power and thermal coupling to PCB through the emitter leads.
I use an LM317, or a pnp transistor (active bias) to limit current for this transistor.