Author Topic: Performing RF power measurement with SSA3021X+  (Read 2268 times)

Offline tluTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Performing RF power measurement with SSA3021X+
« on: March 21, 2023, 12:40:05 am »
Hi All,

I have combed the RF/Microwave section here and could not find a suitable answer for what I'm trying to do. Firstly, I'm new to the RF area and just beginning my electronics hobby journey so my question may come across as simple or even kid level to some of the experts on this forum. What I have is an unmodified Siglent SSA3021X+ SA that I want to use to measure the RF output power from and RF generator at 2.4Ghz. I know that the SA only covers up to 2.1Ghz but would it be able to produce a close enough measurement?

Questions of concern:
1. What attenuation would I need to put in front of the SA if trying to accurately measure a 15W output from the RF generator?
2. Given the upper bandwidth of the SA to be 2.1Ghz, can it even measure the 2.4Ghz frequency of interest?
3. Do I even need to do a zero calibration since I'm not using the tracking generator of the SA but the output from the RF generator?

Sorry if these questions have been addressed before on this forum but my googling skills are not that great :)

Much appreciated,
tlu

Online xrunner

• Super Contributor
  • hp>Agilent>Keysight>???
Re: Performing RF power measurement with SSA3021X+
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2023, 12:52:05 am »
1. What attenuation would I need to put in front of the SA if trying to accurately measure a 15W output from the RF generator?

I'll answer this one. The max input looking at the front connector is +30 dBm. 15W is +41.8 dBm so you would need 41.8 - 30 = 11.8 dB attenuation (or more). A 20 dB attenuator (20 W dissipation) would be a good choice.
I told my friends I could teach them to be funny, but they all just laughed at me.

Offline ahbushnell

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2023, 03:26:26 am »
Hi All,