Author Topic: RF Test Automation  (Read 1522 times)

Offline vinoTopic starter

RF Test Automation
« on: April 12, 2024, 05:28:47 pm »
Good Day Guys,
I would like to ask expert advices because I'm very interested in doing RF test automation. As a newbie I would like to know where should I start? Is there a step by step procedure that I need to follow?
Is there any websites, reading materials ,videos and etc. that this forum can provide. Thank you very much
Modify message

Offline Bud

• Super Contributor
Re: RF Test Automation
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2024, 05:38:39 pm »
Do you mean EMI Compliance test? Your question is broad open, you have to say what RF characteristics you want to test.
Facebook-free life and Rigol-free shack.

Offline dobsonr741

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2024, 01:32:29 am »
Get a few RF test equipment manuals. Learn about SCPI. Take a look at LabView. Those should be the standard tools in an RF lab.

The following users thanked this post: pdenisowski

Online pdenisowski

• Frequent Contributor
  • Product Management Engineer, Rohde & Schwarz
    • Test and Measurement Fundamentals Playlist on the R&S YouTube channel
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2024, 02:15:23 pm »
We have some excellent online tutorials on automating test and measurement instruments

https://www.rohde-schwarz.com/us/driver-pages/remote-control/automation-by-remote-control-step-by-step_231238.html

It's very easy (and essentially free) to get started with automation.  I would recommend just starting small with some basic commands / queries using SCPI.  Sending an *IDN? and getting a response is kind of the "Hello World" of test automation :)

We also published a really good (paper) book on this topic as well, but it's long out of print.  Most of the important information from that book is on the webpages :)