Electronics > RF, Microwave, Ham Radio

Sucoflex 104 repair

(1/2) > >>

veedub565:
Is there anybody in the UK who can fit a new N-Type connector to Sucoflex 104 ?

I've got a 2m length with one N-Type already fitted, but the other end is damaged and needs replacing. Ordinary coax I can do, but I'm not very good at it. this is something else entirely. Was wondering if there might be a small business or something who might do it for me as a one off.

George Edmonds:
Hi

Are N connectors for Sucoflex 104 even available?  I have only ever seen made up cable assemblies

G Edmonds G6HIG

veedub565:
I'm not sure to be honest, this was originally a cable assy with N-Types at each end. Seems a waste to bin the cable if a new connector could be fitted, although possibly more cost effective to just buy a ew cable assy.

George Edmonds:
Hi

It is possible to get Sucoflex patch cables with a whole range of connectors from SMA to C and possibly more.

There are two different outside diameters of Sucoflex 104, which do you have?

I have not fitted connectors to Sucoflex 104, BUT I have fitted a large number of connectors to Messi & Paolomi Ultraflex 7 for local radio amateurs.  Sucoflex 104 and Messi & Paolomi Ultraflex 7 are both PTFE foam dielectric coax cables with a velocity factor of 77%.

The big secret is in getting the correct connectors, which in the case of Sucoflex would most probably have to come from Huber & Shuuner.  By and large it depends on just what you want from a patch cable and the upper frequency required.

G Edmonds G6HIG UK

coppercone2:
I have done stuff like that but I don't know if my work is good. One tip is to use resistance heating for the center pin solder point, so you don't get solder on the outside of the center pin, so it seats perfectly, or to buy the proper crimp tool and do a magnifier inspection before you crimp.