Author Topic: Counter Measures  (Read 4881 times)

Offline rcampbellbassacTopic starter

• Hardware newbie, a bit less of a software newbie
Counter Measures
« on: June 12, 2021, 03:49:41 pm »
Sabaidee! (aka Hello!)

Sorry for this being long.

Background:

I am a teacher, from USA. I used to teach English/ESL. (I hate teaching English). I've built a small computer lab to switch to teaching basic IT and electronics (repair, IoT, Arduino, etc). I'm just starting my hardware journey myself (getting into IoT, hardware repair, and the basics). At some point, I'd love to make my own custom hardware, for various IoT and sensor related projects. I'm not a total newb, but I'm no hardware expert, that's for sure.

Politics:

I live and work in Laos, a communist country sandwiched between various other communist (Vietnam/China), somewhat communist (Cambodia/Myanmar), almost communist (Thailand) countries. I don't really have any grudges against communist governments, and whatnot. It's their place, not mine. They can do whatever they want (and they do anyways, regardless my feelings on matters). I'm apolitical in my work, and will remain that way.

In short, though I don't really care about politics; I do care about Laos and its people. Sometimes things can be strange and interesting...

IT Experience:
My education is in "network admin/IT" with an associates / 2-year degree, but I've touched just about every general topic, except advanced security. I have reasons for avoiding it, as a general rule (read bottom if curious why). Let's just say I've seen what the dark side of IT can do to people on a personal level.

Concerns: