Author Topic: Embedded IoT device check  (Read 2233 times)

Online SiwastajaTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Embedded IoT device check
« on: January 17, 2023, 10:04:38 am »
Hi,

I'm quite new to the security stuff. We have an IoT device under development and I feel like I'm still doing some things cargo cult way, which I don't like. So would greatly appreciate a sanity check into the fundamental ideas (and smaller details, too). Anything weird or incorrect, please make a comment. I hope this is helpful to others, too, since the internet has a lot of information about configuring server infrastructure for things like HTTPS, but little about IoT client devices (but many small startups selling complete secure MQTT over TLS library solutions; but for now, we want to gain understanding and do it ourselves using widely used libraries, instead of building trust to small unknown companies).

* The device actually needs bidirectional exchange of data (information / commands) between the server ("cloud") and device, this is not an "IoT for fun" coffeemaker
* The device is complex enough that remote firmware update is essential
* Payloads are from a few bytes to a few hundred bytes per second. Latency of messages or opening the socket is irrelevant.
* Primary threat model is taking control of someone's device, feeding it unwanted commands directly, or by replacing the firmware with a malicious version
* Forward secrecy is good to have, but being able to decipher collected data years or decades later is not catastrophic (the old information is not that sensitive).

* Device only implements TLS client, and never acts as server
* Device only connects via a single TCP socket to an MQTT broker managed by us
* MQTT is used for user access control on per-topic basis (e.g., only client ABCD1234 can subscribe and publish to private/ABCD1234/#)
* Device firmware update is performed using MQTT messages, subject to the same access control