Author Topic: Being a test engineer a dead end for an EE?  (Read 5205 times)

Offline EthTopic starter

Being a test engineer a dead end for an EE?
« on: October 03, 2010, 05:23:00 pm »
Hi all,

I've been a test engineer for about 2 years but I would really like to do design.  All the jobs I've seen require 3 to 5 years experience in DESIGN of-course I don't have any experience in design since I've been stuck in testing since graduating with an EE.  Should I go for my Masters in EE? I feel I hit a wall with no design experience....anybody else in a similar situation? did you get out of it?  I think Testing is a dead end when you want to do design what do you guys think?

Offline Simon

• Global Moderator
  • Did that just blow up? No? might work after all !!
    • Simon's Electronics
Re: Being a test engineer a dead end for an EE?
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2010, 05:42:42 pm »
well you idealy need to find something a step down that will get you the experience you need, what sort of testing are you doing ? I've seen quality department people move into design, maybe you own company can offer you some opportunities ?

Offline EthTopic starter

« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2010, 05:58:35 pm »
well you idealy need to find something a step down that will get you the experience you need, what sort of testing are you doing ? I've seen quality department people move into design, maybe you own company can offer you some opportunities ?

Hi Simon,