Author Topic: Suggestion for an EEVBlog video. Lab PSU _current_ limit overshoot.  (Read 2415 times)

Offline plurnTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Suggestion for an EEVBlog video. A "trap for young players" video about lab power supply current limit overshoot - as opposed to voltage limit overshoot that everyone typically complains about.

I don't remember ever noticing current overshoot mentioned in a review so I suspect it is not a well known thing, at least by many people that do reviews. Or perhaps it is so well known among experts that they don't bother mentioning it? I am an electronics beginner and I only found out about it by doing some tests on my first lab power supply and was very surprised by what I found. Example result, set current limit to 20mA, short the output and while measuring peak current, enable the channel - result 16.8A peak. I think it is important that other electronics beginners are made aware of this so they can work around it.

I posted my test results at this thread https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/new-spd1168x-siglent-psu/msg2401254/#msg2401254 but will repeat them here. Note that while these tests are done with a Siglent SPD1305X power supply - from what I have read I would expect most or all power supplies to do something similar. I am not taking a dig at the Siglent power supply - in fact I like it a lot.

excerpt from my other post:
- - -

I thought I would try measuring current overshoot. Tests done with a Keysight U1272A multimeter with "Peak detection of up to 250 μs".

Testing done with U1272A set to measure current in the 10A range (which seems to be a 30A range as it is a 30,000 count meter) rather than autorange. Then Peak detect enabled.

Test A SPD1305X settings:
3.000V
0.020A
SPD1305X connected direct (pretty much a short) to current measurement on multimeter, then power on the channel with the soft power button.