Author Topic: top 10 uses for Function Generators  (Read 7714 times)

Offline AndyC_772

• Super Contributor
  • Professional design engineer
    • Cawte Engineering | Reliable Electronics
Re: top 10 uses for Function Generators
« Reply #25 on: April 26, 2019, 11:09:23 am »
I completely agree, but bear in mind, someone just starting work needs to have a more academic bias if they are to end up a competent engineer after some time in industry.

If they start off with too little academic, theoretical knowledge, and then add pure on-the-job experience, then they'll become technicians - and may have missed the only opportunity to become the best engineers they could have been.

Online Berni

• Super Contributor
« Reply #26 on: April 26, 2019, 11:37:18 am »
I'm not entirely sure how I feel about this kind of project being set as part of an academic course. As some of you may know, I design sensor products for a living; sometimes these are an off-the-shelf component packaged up in a convenient way for the application, other times they're designed from the ground up starting with the underlying physics.

Learning how to google a data sheet, make sense of it and infer what supporting components a sensor will need is something which can be readily done in industry, and it's the sort of thing I'd fully expect to teach a junior engineer on the job. Being able to do it correctly is more about experience than theory, and you really don't need to take up precious course hours decoding some particular vendor's badly documented register set, or trying to solder a QFN without wrecking it. They're practical skills that I can teach someone quite easily.