Author Topic: $475 in funds  (Read 18412 times)

Offline Daniel_ReyesTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
$475 in funds
« on: September 08, 2015, 11:59:39 pm »
My wife just cleared me to buy $475 worth of test equipment in a month and a half. I am an electronics technician with an associates degree and have decided to go back to school to school to get my bachelors in EE. I currently have a 0-3A 0-32vdc linear power supply, a 200khz bandwidth dso scope. A variable soldering iron, hot air rework station, a 25mhz cheap sig gen and a 3d printer and a cheap multi meter. I am currently in math classes online so I have not been able to build much with my gear lately but i fully expect to put it to good use when i start attending a brick and mortar school full time next year.

My main question is how to get the most value for my money and most capability. I was originally planning on getting a rigol ds1054z but when i was looking at the fully populated display, i realized i have a long way to go before id use all those features. I frequently look to ebay and see old but good scopes for less that may meet my needs. The question is how to best spend this money.

-Dan

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk

Offline BradC

• Super Contributor
Re: $475 in funds
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2015, 12:20:35 am »
The question is how to best spend this money.

$475 in parts to build and experiment with. You'll have a lot more fun with that.

Offline fivefish

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2015, 12:28:43 am »
Agree with Brad!

Also consider Arduino and related boards... you get to learn microprocessor programming, and integrate some electronics know how too.

Buy some kits to assemble!

Filling shelves and shelves with new test equipment doesn't make you learn electronics.

Offline lowimpedance

• Super Contributor
  • Watts in an ohm?
« Reply #3 on: September 09, 2015, 12:29:31 am »