Author Topic: (Tektronix TDS 460A) 100Ms/s Oscilloscope still good enough for modern stuff?  (Read 3082 times)

Offline jbennet-tTopic starter

I just picked up a used Tektronix TDS 460A oscilloscope for relatively cheap (around 85$ after shipping). To summarize, it's a digital scope (circa 1996), a 400Mhz, 4 channel model, with a 100Ms/s sampling rate. My question is if a 100Ms/s sampling rate is still good enough for modern applications.

I know 400Mhz is plenty, but I've heard that high bandwidth won't do you a whole lot of good if sampling rate is poor. For modern beginner scopes, 1Gs/s seems to be the more of the norm, or at least somewhere in that ballpark.

Scope PDF for reference: https://assets.tequipment.net/assets/1/26/Documents/TDS400_UserManual.pdf

I'm still relatively new to electronics (2nd year computer/robotics engineering student), and my main uses would be on personal projects, such as working with microcontrollers, servos, PIDs, ... and typical signals for these applications (PWM, I2C, serial, etc.). This will be my first scope. I'm also planning to pick up a usb logic analyzer for digital analysis.

Apologies if this is a silly question, and for any formatting errors. Thank you for your time!

Offline snoopy

• Frequent Contributor
    • Analog Precision