Author Topic: FPGA or DSP processor?  (Read 7202 times)

Offline gus789Topic starter

• Contributor
FPGA or DSP processor?
« on: July 20, 2013, 05:17:54 am »
Hi, I am a noob in the field of FPGAs and DSPs. I've been looking to learn about DSP instrumentation components, things like filters, spectrum analyzers, phase detectors, lock-in amplifiers, waveform generators, etc, for sub 200 kHz analog signals.

Any suggestions as to specific FPGA or DSP boards/chips that would be a good fit for this kind of project? A basic DSP processors board would be ideal as I have no experience with FPGA and their learning curve seems pretty steep (especially after Dave's last video :scared: ).  It would be particularly nice to start with an off the shelf board, which I could later use as a basis for various designs, rather than have to design the whole board from scratch. Thanks!

Gus

Offline rsjsouza

• Super Contributor
  • Eternally curious
    • Vbe - vídeo blog eletrônico
Re: FPGA or DSP processor?
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2013, 11:51:48 am »
I know well the TI DSP product line, therefore I can give some suggestions of DSP dev boards.

I am not exactly sure how much complexity you expect of your system or your starting budget, but you can always check a C2000 Launchpad to get your feet wet, although waveform analysis at 200kHz will be hard with this device.

Moving up on scale that would be one of the eZdsp sticks such as the C5505 or C5515, which will better accomodate higher sampling rates.

If you have a higher budget you can either get a more featured board that uses the C5515 DSP or move up to the big leagues (multiple cores, full floating-point, etc.) in the shapes of a C6678 8-core 1.25GHz DSP or its smaller C6670 and C6657 (four and two core respectively) siblings.