Author Topic: 4 channel Keysight 1000x series scope  (Read 31055 times)

Online TK

• Super Contributor
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
Re: 4 channel Keysight 1000x series scope
« Reply #75 on: December 31, 2018, 03:56:39 am »
I think Spear600 is old compared to new CPUs running faster and with more cores and Probably the old Windows CE was a better fit.  That is why I asked about the responsiveness as it seems Linux is heavier and the same reason for it to take 1 min to boot might impact on the performance of the scope app

Offline ginbot86

• Contributor
  • 0x9000
    • My tech blog documenting whatever weird electronic things I feel like doing.
« Reply #76 on: December 31, 2018, 04:32:45 am »
What a twist, the new scope runs Linux. I guess that makes sense, with WinCE 6 reaching EOL, and STMicro advertises that their SPEAr600 supports Linux anyway. I wonder how Linux takes advantage of the processor's two cores (to my knowledge, WinCE 6 didn't support multi-core processing).

I guess that means we'll need a different approach to run Doom on Keysight's newer lineup of scopes. ;)
Code: [Select]
Initialization Failed: Insufficient caffeine in system.

Offline nctnico

• Super Contributor
    • NCT Developments
« Reply #77 on: December 31, 2018, 09:13:35 am »
I think Spear600 is old compared to new CPUs running faster and with more cores and Probably the old Windows CE was a better fit.  That is why I asked about the responsiveness as it seems Linux is heavier and the same reason for it to take 1 min to boot might impact on the performance of the scope app
Linux doesn't have to be heavier. That is nonsense. Also the boot time of a Linux system is defined by the speed of the flash being used. Put a Sata SSD in an embedded Linux system and it wil start in seconds. Besides that the oscilloscope likely does a quick self test during starting.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.