Author Topic: 40000 counts or 4 3/4 multimeter for calibration audio gear.  (Read 13795 times)

Offline NrkbTopic starter

• Contributor
40000 counts or 4 3/4 multimeter for calibration audio gear.
« on: October 31, 2016, 01:34:26 am »
Hey!  ;D

So i know this is similar to the old bad "hey what should i buy" but i'm asking anyways because i think my case is a bit different, maybe not.. you tell me..

Basicly i need a multimeter with at least 40000 counts or 4 3/4 for calibration of audio gear equipment.

I looked at a lot of them but i'm sure i missed some.

It's kinda hard to find using the search, it just shows posts from almost 3 years old...

Is there a list of multimeter with at least 40000 counts somewhere?

I found in this jungle of chinese copies and legit brands, some that might be good for me.

I'm not a professional in this domain, but i don't want to pay for something that will fail or display the wrong values.

So i guess below 300usd would be perfect...

I ended up with this list:

- Fluke 287
- Extech EX530
- Brymen BM869S
- UNI-T UNIT UT71D
- Amprobe Am-140-A
- Voltcraft VC870

If that UT71D didn't look so sketchy i would have bought it right away... also the youtube teardowns didn't helped...

I have to say i'm not going to use high voltage or anything like that, it's more for calibration of precise audio gear, most often under 20v, 12v most of the time max.

Sorry if this has been asked but usualy this kind of post is everytime related to the basic 4000-6000 counts, i just can't get this, it's not enough.

« Last Edit: October 31, 2016, 02:19:18 am by Nrkb »

• Contributor
Re: 40000 counts or 4 3/4 multimeter for calibration audio gear.
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2016, 01:55:05 am »
71D is an outdated model, deprecated by 71E. 71E is far worse in terms of building quality of 61E, so if you can live with lower count number, I suggest a 61E.