Author Topic: Enabling options on Agilent ESA series E4402B E4404B E4405B E4407B  (Read 18575 times)

natman69, analogRF, suj, ps and 4 Guests are viewing this topic.

Online PA0PBZ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4592
  • Country: nl
Re: Enabling options on Agilent ESA series E4402B E4404B E4405B E4407B
« Reply #300 on: November 21, 2020, 11:02:05 am »
I have more to offer  :D
Keyboard error: Press F1 to continue.
 

Online PA0PBZ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4592
  • Country: nl
Re: Enabling options on Agilent ESA series E4402B E4404B E4405B E4407B
« Reply #301 on: November 21, 2020, 12:31:47 pm »
Yes, I clicked it for fun and this time it worked  :-+
Keyboard error: Press F1 to continue.
 

Offline mankan

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 41
  • Country: se
Re: Enabling options on Agilent ESA series E4402B E4404B E4405B E4407B
« Reply #302 on: November 21, 2020, 04:12:07 pm »
Thanks again PA0PBZ  :)

Now I have the options that is useful for my HW.
[attachimg=1]

As a way of paying it forward, I've attached zipped disk folders so no need for real floppy drives. I also managed to run the disk image SW in my XP Virtual Box, it was the fastest floppy drive I have ever used  :)
 

Offline smgvbest

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 622
  • Country: us
    • Kilbourne Astronomics
Re: Enabling options on Agilent ESA series E4402B E4404B E4405B E4407B
« Reply #303 on: November 22, 2020, 04:33:33 am »
Hi
I have an e4403B, I would like to start activating the option 049 color display ...
I tried to follow these steps but I believe I am doing something ...
can someone detail the steps more?
I'm using Putty as a serial monitor ...
I can make the morning calls until 9 ...

doing this procedure I need to do what else?

My steps:
0. Set the serial terminal to 19200,8n1
1. DIP sw # 4 set to ON
2. break the boot process with 0x06
3. sword 04139614 4ef9
4. sword 04139618 d8a4
5. DIP sw # 4 set to OFF
6. gu
7. SA restart in normal mode
8. Press "r" and we are in the monitor now 8)
9. Change the serial port speed.
> slong 815F4 1001A
10. Change speed of the serial terminal to 115200, 8n1

does you SA actually have a Color Display?
depending on the Unit some where not shipped with a Color Display and hence the need for Opt 049 when installing a color display
if you have a color display and its not showing color then you need to create a license for 049,   information of which is in this thread on how to do


Sandra
(Yes, I am a Woman :p )
 

Online suj

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 82
  • Country: pl
Re: Enabling options on Agilent ESA series E4402B E4404B E4405B E4407B
« Reply #304 on: November 22, 2020, 02:26:56 pm »
...
I don't know if I'm doing it wrong or skipping some process to activate the licenses ...

after this procedure what do i need to do more?

0. Set the serial terminal to 19200.8n1
1. DIP sw # 4 set to ON
2. interrupt the boot process with 0x06
3. sword 04139614 4ef9
4. sword 04139618 d8a4
5. DIP sw # 4 set to OFF
6 .gu
7. Restart SA in normal mode
8. Press "r" and we are on the monitor now 8)
9. Change the speed of the serial port.
> slong 815F4 1001A
10. Change the speed of the serial terminal to 115200, 8n1

That was a procedure to get a dump for debugging, not useful to you. The solution is in post #244.
 

Offline mankan

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 41
  • Country: se
Re: Enabling options on Agilent ESA series E4402B E4404B E4405B E4407B
« Reply #305 on: November 29, 2020, 10:21:00 am »
Weirdly enough I have the same download issue again, this time its the latest ESG fw that fails the same way. Can I bother some of the master downloaders in this thread for assistance? https://www.keysight.com/main/software.jspx?cc=US&lc=eng&nid=-32463.536880925&id=1000001137:epsg:sud&pageMode=CV
 

Online PA0PBZ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4592
  • Country: nl
Re: Enabling options on Agilent ESA series E4402B E4404B E4405B E4407B
« Reply #306 on: November 29, 2020, 11:08:01 am »
No problem for me with this one.
Keyboard error: Press F1 to continue.
 
The following users thanked this post: mankan

Online Electrole

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 30
  • Country: dk
Re: Enabling options on Agilent ESA series E4402B E4404B E4405B E4407B
« Reply #307 on: February 08, 2021, 08:42:51 pm »
Dear all,
I have read this thread with interest and utter admiration! I have recently acquired an almost working E4411B which I'm trying to fix. Eventually, and if the repair session goes well, the E4411B will deserve to have option 1DR (narrow BW) enabled. However, I fail to see exactly which steps to carry out in order to enable this option. Could some of you perhaps be persuaded to write up a small tutorial that takes the reader through the concrete steps? My E4411B has FW version A.14.03 and was born with B72 Expansion Memory, so I guess an update should be doable.
Best regards
 

Online PA0PBZ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4592
  • Country: nl
Re: Enabling options on Agilent ESA series E4402B E4404B E4405B E4407B
« Reply #308 on: February 08, 2021, 09:17:00 pm »
Eventually, and if the repair session goes well, the E4411B will deserve to have option 1DR (narrow BW) enabled. However, I fail to see exactly which steps to carry out in order to enable this option.

Send me a PM with your hostid and the required option and I think we can work it out  ;)
Keyboard error: Press F1 to continue.
 
The following users thanked this post: VRCW

Offline n8ur

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: us
Re: Enabling options on Agilent ESA series E4402B E4404B E4405B E4407B
« Reply #309 on: February 21, 2021, 08:54:15 pm »
I've been trying to do my homework, but a day of searching the interwebs for lmcryptgui has only turned up references in message boards 10 years ago with links to locations that are long gone.

If anyone here has, or can help me find, the file, I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks!
John
 

Offline roxbox

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: us
    • RoxBox Karaoke
Re: Enabling options on Agilent ESA series E4402B E4404B E4405B E4407B
« Reply #310 on: April 22, 2021, 05:32:43 pm »
This would be nice, I have TME!
 

Online ps

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 27
  • Country: de
For early units, option 1D5 is added by installing a Corning / VECTRON MC867X4-002W OCXO (10MHz  +12V sinewave EFC) to the reference/third converter board.

Is this OCXO controlled by the same DACs as the regular timebase, i.e. using the System - Alignments - Timebase menu?

Or does it require the N7811A software package to set the control voltage? If so, does anybody know the required GPIB commands? Otherwise it could be easier to use some precision resistors and a pot to provide the tune voltage in hardware.


Generally, have any of the N7811A alignment procedures been reverse engineered, so that they could be done with a simple GPIB interface and some own code?
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf