Author Topic: A Fluke 8050A bought on ebay (another sad story)  (Read 13707 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Rick

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 309
  • Country: tr
Re: A Fluke 8050A bought on ebay (another sad story)
« Reply #25 on: January 30, 2013, 07:43:17 am »
Then do you know any good 4,5 digit display LCD available on internet with a few extra segments for things such as db REL HV (even with different signs or names)?

What about ripping one out of a broken handheld DMM? There are plenty of cheap 4.5 digit DMM out there, there must be a lot of broken ones as well.

Greetings,

Chris

But the shipping cost is at least $39-$49 because people do not want to ship with 1st class mail. Anyway good advice. Thanks.
 

Online PaulAm

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 651
  • Country: us
Re: A Fluke 8050A bought on ebay (another sad story)
« Reply #26 on: January 30, 2013, 08:39:14 am »
There's a thread on this board about replacing the LCD in a Fluke 8020, you can use a $3.50 display available from Mouser to replace the failed one, but it takes a bit of work.  Search on this board for fluke and lcd and you'll find something.

Here's a thread that has a link to replacing the lcd with leds:
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/projects/fluke-8050a-repair/

There's another link I ran across to a German site where a guy used the standard $3.50 LCD.  The only problem with those is you have to wire them up; the zebra strips will not work because the displays have pins.  I don't have the link handy, but I think I posted it in a reply on one of the LCD repair threads.

Lots of options; but fixing it is a couple hour job.
 

Online Fraser

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8225
  • Country: gb
Re: A Fluke 8050A bought on ebay (another sad story)
« Reply #27 on: January 30, 2013, 09:13:53 am »
To answer the OP's question regarding good used alternatives to the 8050. I have bought three used Fluke 8840A's and love them. Well built and very accurate. They use a nice bright VFD and not an LCD.  I paid around US$75 for each of them (Ex MoD surplus), but prices have gone up since.

Regards

Fraser
 

alm

  • Guest
Re: A Fluke 8050A bought on ebay (another sad story)
« Reply #28 on: January 30, 2013, 10:21:59 am »
The 8840As are much newer and nicer than the 8050, but typical prices on eBay were around the $200 mark last time I checked. Not exactly a competitor for the 8050.

You can sometimes find an HP 3468A for around the $75 mark. LCD, but I haven't heard of any problems with the LCDs going bad. This is the slightly older cousin of the HP 3478A. The HP 3466A might be another alternative. Uses LED displays. I'm sure there are older manual ranging models, but I don't have the part numbers memorized. Some of the Keithley 17x/19x meters could also be a good alternative. The Keithley 175(A) is 4.5 digit and has auto-ranging, I think I've seen these for $50 used.
 

Offline Rick

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 309
  • Country: tr
Re: A Fluke 8050A bought on ebay (another sad story)
« Reply #29 on: January 30, 2013, 10:33:36 am »
New multimeter purchases?... the HP3478A and the Fluke 8840A (and the 8842A?)
Ok I have them on my list of things to be purchased. Let me fix this one first. Hopefully the replacement LCD will be fine.
« Last Edit: January 30, 2013, 10:38:32 am by Rick »
 

Offline lowimpedance

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1055
  • Country: au
  • Watts in an ohm?
Re: A Fluke 8050A bought on ebay (another sad story)
« Reply #30 on: January 30, 2013, 10:34:28 am »

[/quote]
Then do you know any good 4,5 digit display LCD available on internet with a few extra segments for things such as db REL HV (even with different signs or names)?
There are lots of options for 3,5 digit LCDs but not as many for 4,5 digit ones. The new one will be shipped but if it turns bad I need to find a solution. Because the meter is in excellent condition. It is as accurate as my 87V for example and even more accurate for resistance measurement... I don't know if this is just a coincidence.
[/quote]

Rick
 If you are indeed getting a Fluke replacement LCD , then I would not be in too much of a rush to think of another 'fix' straight away.
I have fixed a couple of 8050's with 'new replacment Fluke LCD's' some years ago and they are still working fine, (no hint of any failure!).
As to an cheapo generic LCD, well I have not found one yet, so LED's is probably your best alternative. Either way its more than just a few hours work!!.
So to recap, get your new OEM LCD and just wait and see over time. Besides you may just snag another more capable DMM as time goes on to add to
your line up.
The odd multimeter or 2 or 3 or 4...or........can't remember !.
 

Offline Rick

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 309
  • Country: tr
Re: A Fluke 8050A bought on ebay (another sad story)
« Reply #31 on: January 30, 2013, 10:40:49 am »
There's a thread on this board about replacing the LCD in a Fluke 8020, you can use a $3.50 display available from Mouser to replace the failed one, but it takes a bit of work.  Search on this board for fluke and lcd and you'll find something.
8020A is a 3,5 digit may be an 8060A would be more suitable... right?
 

Offline Rick

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 309
  • Country: tr
Re: A Fluke 8050A bought on ebay (another sad story)
« Reply #32 on: January 30, 2013, 10:42:26 am »
Rick
 If you are indeed getting a Fluke replacement LCD , then I would not be in too much of a rush to think of another 'fix' straight away.

Sure I need to wait. Thanks.
 

Online PaulAm

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 651
  • Country: us
Re: A Fluke 8050A bought on ebay (another sad story)
« Reply #33 on: January 30, 2013, 11:03:58 am »
There's a thread on this board about replacing the LCD in a Fluke 8020, you can use a $3.50 display available from Mouser to replace the failed one, but it takes a bit of work.  Search on this board for fluke and lcd and you'll find something.
8020A is a 3,5 digit may be an 8060A would be more suitable... right?
Yup, extra digit makes a difference.  Missed that on first reading.
 

Offline grenert

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 446
Re: A Fluke 8050A bought on ebay (another sad story)
« Reply #34 on: January 30, 2013, 04:18:00 pm »
Yes, I think that getting a non-original display to work in one of these is a lot more trouble than it's worth.  The 8060A display is 4.5 digits, but quite a bit smaller than the 8050A has.
I had an 8050A that was very accurate, but the display was just becoming impossible to read, so I got rid of it.  You're probably better off just finding a 4.5 digit handheld; they're not that hard to find and not that expensive these days.  Even the 8060A is pretty close in specs (some better, some worse).
 

Offline Rick

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 309
  • Country: tr
Re: A Fluke 8050A bought on ebay (another sad story)
« Reply #35 on: January 30, 2013, 11:48:42 pm »
Yes, I think that getting a non-original display to work in one of these is a lot more trouble than it's worth.  The 8060A display is 4.5 digits, but quite a bit smaller than the 8050A has.
I had an 8050A that was very accurate, but the display was just becoming impossible to read, so I got rid of it.  You're probably better off just finding a 4.5 digit handheld; they're not that hard to find and not that expensive these days.  Even the 8060A is pretty close in specs (some better, some worse).

:)) I have just bought it!
 

Offline (In)Sanity

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 229
  • Country: us
Re: A Fluke 8050A bought on ebay (another sad story)
« Reply #36 on: February 01, 2013, 03:22:36 pm »
I recently purchased an 8050a from ebay that appeared in very good condition.   The seller while having a ton of high end gear claimed it was never tested.   The photos showed it powered on and the LCD working,  so I figure worse the risk.    Total cost shipped was under $40.    Upon arrival the first thing I ran in to was one of the batteries was stone cold dead,  no biggie as I had replacements.    I then ran in to complete lack of meaningful measurements,  so I pulled it all apart to look around.   The contacts under the zebra stripe had completely separated from the copper.   That I fixed with a pencil eraser followed by alcohol , flux ,  solder  and finally smooth with solder wick.   Another couple contacts that joined boards via a ribbon cable required the same treatment.    So now the LCD was supper high contrast but still no readings.    Some more digging around showed that R1 and R2 were completely blown.  These were designed to be fuse-able links in the meter.   After replacing those as well as a transistor (2N3904) and 3 MOV's the meter was up and running.    Amazingly it was still well within it's rated specs using my 3457A as a reference.   I've since calibrated it closer and use it all the time as a daily bench meter.   It works a treat. 

Jeff
 

Offline PhilNY

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
  • Country: us
Re: A Fluke 8050A bought on ebay (another sad story)
« Reply #37 on: March 01, 2013, 07:55:00 am »
Rick
I have the LCD and also bezels if they are cracked, haven't used them in years, and found them in a box.The strange thing is the Fluke PN from 98 is 897207 and not the number in the original manual for the 8050, but all I had was 8010, 8012 and 8050's around and it is the only 4.5 digit display that I ordered from Fluke at the time. If you still need one just email me @ framep@sunyocc.edu and I will send you one.
Phil
 

Offline Rick

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 309
  • Country: tr
Re: A Fluke 8050A bought on ebay (another sad story)
« Reply #38 on: March 01, 2013, 08:41:06 am »
Rick
I have the LCD and also bezels if they are cracked, haven't used them in years, and found them in a box.The strange thing is the Fluke PN from 98 is 897207 and not the number in the original manual for the 8050, but all I had was 8010, 8012 and 8050's around and it is the only 4.5 digit display that I ordered from Fluke at the time. If you still need one just email me @ framep@sunyocc.edu and I will send you one.
Phil

Hi Phil,

Actually the seller promised to send a replacement but he does not rush as he is concerned the cold weather may cause the same problems. So he told me he will send it (he first needs to find one...) when the weather is warmer:)
I think he will. However if he does not send I shall contact you.
 
Thank you very much!
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf