Author Topic: Advantest R3131A Spectrum Analyzer 9KHz-3GHz  (Read 127609 times)

Offline jc81382

• Regular Contributor
Re: Advantest R3131A Spectrum Analyzer 9KHz-3GHz
« Reply #75 on: February 03, 2016, 11:16:31 pm »
nctnico,

Thanks for the idea. I just tried it and all it did was reset the unit, but worth a try.

I decided to take out, what I assume to be the RF Board, to inspect this "dielectric switch" that I keep seeing in the pictures.

Now I am not a RF or Electronics technician, I graduated from a tech school for Electronics, I work at a Calibration Lab and I like to tinker, so a lot of this is over my head. But if anyone can explain to my why the position of these switch's seems to be different on every unit and how adjusting them may or may not help my situation that would be greatly appreciated.

Attached is a pic of the position I found my unit it.

Thanks

Offline T3sl4co1l

• Super Contributor
  • Expert, Analog Electronics, PCB Layout, EMC
    • Seven Transistor Labs
« Reply #76 on: February 04, 2016, 12:14:28 am »
A structure like that would be for fine tuning a filter's frequency, bandpass, matching, etc.  It might compensate for tolerances in the PCB fabrication, or variations in device impedance.

I think you'd want to run a full E&M sim on it, just to be sure.  The range of effects it can have is quite broad (its position varies by electrical angle along the transmission line structures, as well as contributing loading impedance with those isolated chits, which are at some distance as well, so will affect the response in a complicated way again).

Tim
Seven Transistor Labs, LLC
Electronic design, from concept to prototype.
Bringing a project to life?  Send me a message!

Online nctnico

• Super Contributor
    • NCT Developments
« Reply #77 on: February 04, 2016, 12:32:14 am »