Author Topic: Buying advice: Rigol RSA3000 RTSA or Siglent SSA3000X Plus for EMC  (Read 506 times)

Offline AlphaprotTopic starter

Foreword in accordance with the sticky post: I hope I have not missed previous discussions about this topic. Using the forum-wide search and sifting throug the appropriate device super-threads for both model families, I could not find a satisfiying comparison. The Internet itself is quite sparse with hands-on experience with RSA3000 models in general.

I am an electronics beginner and like to design smaller PCBs in my free time (it is some sort of contemplative work for me to do layout). For debugging purposes, I got access to an 8-bit scope (SDS2104X Plus with the "usual" improvements) which has a basic FFT functionality). I am quite interested in getting things clean with regard to EMC, so I even if I might not be legally bound to too many regulations as an hobbiest not distributing his work, I like to improve my skill in this area as well.

This is my main reason for my call after a spectrum analyzer. I see two and a half options for a potential buy (buying location - Germany):
  • Siglent SSA2021X Plus, perhaps upgraded to a SSA3032X Plus or crossflashed to an SVA1032X
  • Rigol RSA3015, to my knowledge only "usefully" upgradable to an RSA3045
  • X Something comparably or lower priced you think would be a better fit

I am willing to put some nickels of my student loan aside (I initially calculated with 1.159 EUR of the SSA3015X Plus, but seems like it is better to buy a SSA3021X Plus instead hardwarewise). If it goes over 2.000 EUR as it is the case for a RSA3000 model with TG, I will be considerably more reluctant.

My wishlist in no apparent order:
  • Measure frequencies of interest up to around 2.4 GHz ISM for IoT purposes, although I have currently no requirement to do real-time analysis/debugging of radio protocols (that is too much information technology at this time for me)