Author Topic: Advantest R3361B S.A. sampler: built to fail - advises needed to fix it  (Read 1114 times)

Offline egirlandTopic starter

• Contributor
Built on a ceramic substrate, this sampler it is very prone to crack failures.
My own not being an exception (see pic).

I've 40 years experience in soldering, but this is a very special case (up to 7GHz here!), so I kindly request the group for help in applying the best possible fixing procedure.
I thought I'd clean the part with IPA and then wipe it over very lightly with a multi-fiber rag (the one I regularly use to clean my glasses);
then proceed with soldering.
Is it advisable to use some flux here??
Is it advisable to put a very thin copper strand between the parts?
How to avoid the solder from spreading too much along the traces?
.. and so on..

Thank in advance.
Emanuele.

Offline nctnico

• Super Contributor
    • NCT Developments
Re: Advantest R3361B S.A. sampler: built to fail - advises needed to fix it
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2022, 09:20:07 pm »
I'd solder a thin strand on it. Having done such a repair myself before I strongly suggest to:
1) put kapton / polyimide tape on the areas that you don't want to have solder on. The gold plated traces transport tin very easely
2) use hot air from the underside to pre-heat (evenly !) and solder very carefully because the traces lift up very quickly
3) take your time; it is a repair that is easy to mess up

Use cotton swabs only to clean flux residu. Stay away with anything that can build up static electricity (like fiber cloth).
« Last Edit: January 13, 2022, 09:25:41 pm by nctnico »
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.

Offline SilverSolder

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2022, 09:56:13 pm »
+1 for thin strand.  I would unravel some desoldering wick and use one or two strands of that.

No lead free solder within 100 miles of this project! :D