Author Topic: Advantest R3961B S Parameter Test Set N Connector conical inner conductor broken  (Read 4113 times)

Offline The_PraiodanishTopic starter

Hi folks,

it's my first time writing here as I hope you can help me out (like many times before as a reader of this forum :-+) ).
I'm a development engineer for rf electronics and software and an electronics and rf hobbyist.

A few days ago I've bought an Advantest R3961B S-Parameter test set which should be added to my 8753C with some glue logic, it's a test set specified from 300kHz up to 3.6 GHz but a quick hookup to our campany's VNA showed it works quite well up to 6 GHz with roughly 24 dB directivity.

Now I have a big problem with one of the N connector test ports on one of the directional bridges, the previous owner crapped the inner conductor |O.
I've managed to disassemble the bridge and remove the connector but the conically shaped center conductor is broken.
Does anyone of you know which manufacturer builds similar tapered N connectors or where I can get a replacement?
Thanks a lot in advance!

Here some pics of the opened bridge, only taken with my mobile but I will add some better ones:

« Last Edit: May 26, 2015, 07:26:00 pm by The_Praiodanish »

Offline Fraser

• Super Contributor
Sadly that is a custom Advantest part.

Your best chance of repair is to buy a high quality N connector, such as used by HP and transplant its gold plated segmented centre to your damaged connector.

I would approach this by grafting the new segmented centre assembly onto the stub of your damaged assembly after removing the damaged part. If the new section is hollow, file the old section to form a pin that inserts into the new section. This provides physical stability.

You will lose the continuous gold plated skin, but if you use silver solder to join the old and new parts, you will still have a good quality connection.