Author Topic: Signal generator to oscilloscope connection advice.  (Read 17762 times)

Offline ReneTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Signal generator to oscilloscope connection advice.
« on: November 06, 2014, 06:10:07 pm »
I just got my new Siglent SDG1025 signal generator and I am eager to plug the generator to my oscilloscope and checkout some of those sexy waves. The problem right now is that I am new to all these and I am not 100% how to make the generator / oscilloscope connection (I am particularly troubled by the 50 ohms issue).

My guess is that the best and most practical way would be to connect the two devices together using a BNC cable with a 50 ohms terminator (close to the oscilloscope connector side) and do a direct BNC connection.

Another way I have seen this done is to first connect a BNC cable with alligator clips to the signal generator. Once that is done I can use the regular oscilloscope proves and connect the proves to the alligator clips. The problem here is that I am not sure if I have to add a 50 ohms resistor between the alligator clips.

Could someone help me sort this issue out?

Thanks.

Offline alex.forencich

• Frequent Contributor
    • Alex Forencich
Re: Signal generator to oscilloscope connection advice.
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2014, 06:18:18 pm »
The generator will work fine without a 50 ohm load.  However, it is possible that the 'calibrated' output voltage will be specified for a 50 ohm load, so if you set it to 1 Vpp you will see 2 Vpp on the scope.  Usually there is a setting to change this so that the output voltage is specified for a 1 M ohm load so the voltage will be correct.  You won't damage a waveform generator like that by running it without a load. 
Python-based instrument control: Python IVI, Python VXI-11, Python USBTMC

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2014, 06:35:18 pm »
Thanks Alex,