Author Topic: Advice on buying used oscilloscope...  (Read 3769 times)

Offline plore90Topic starter

Advice on buying used oscilloscope...
« on: May 07, 2020, 09:00:34 pm »
Hello everyone,
I am new to this very interesting forum and I have read some posts regarding oscilloscopes. I state that I do not have experience in oscilloscopes, having worked over the years only in the IT field (software and systems). Now that I am retired and I devote myself for passion to projects with arduino and small digital systems I would like to have an oscilloscope that could help me in my projects and that would also allow me to analyze the various serial protocols (I2C, RS232, USB etc. ). I state that I already have some used HP measuring and power-source instruments which is my favorite brand.
My budget is not high and I was focusing on the used model Agilent 54622D 100 MHz, 2 + 16 Channel. I would like to have some comments and suggestions from you on which model to use.
Thank you and greetings

Offline james_s

• Super Contributor
Re: Advice on buying used oscilloscope...
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2020, 09:04:13 pm »
If you want to analyze serial protocols that eliminates most of the older scopes, you'd probably be better off with one of the Rigol, Siglent, etc low cost 4 channel DSOs.

Then again, for decoding serial protocols a logic analyzer is really a better tool so you could use just about any scope. I've never used a HP/Agilent DSO but I've heard good things about them and it does look like the 54622D can be had for ~$200 or less which is pretty cheap for a usable scope.

« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2020, 10:39:08 pm »
Thanks for your answer James.
I will follow your advice and also will evaluate Rigol, Siglent, etc low cost 4 channel DSOs :-+ :-+

Offline TK

• Super Contributor
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2020, 10:49:38 pm »
The 54622D can trigger on serial data, but not decode

Offline Fungus

• Super Contributor