Author Topic: Siglent SDL1000X Data Logging  (Read 723 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DeepLink

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 32
  • Country: dk
Siglent SDL1000X Data Logging
« on: January 29, 2020, 09:56:17 pm »
Hi

Looking at the Siglents DC Loads
SDL1020X-E
SDL1020X
SDL1030X-E
SDL1030X

Can the front USB only be used for saving setup?
What about logging data to USB memory?

Hans
« Last Edit: January 30, 2020, 05:33:55 pm by DeepLink »
 

Offline dkggpeters

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 30
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent SDL1000X Data Logging
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2020, 04:47:40 pm »
The USB can be used for logging data.
 

Offline BillB

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 612
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent SDL1000X Data Logging
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2020, 03:05:54 pm »
Maybe one day Siglent will release a PC application to log the data.   :-//
 
The following users thanked this post: tautech

Offline Algasman

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: de
Re: Siglent SDL1000X Data Logging
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2020, 09:42:11 pm »
I am also thinking about buying an electronic load and think the Siglent SDL1020X-E is good value for money.
Is it true that the SDL1000 USB logging records only one selected parameter at a time?
If it does not record a voltage-current pair per sample it seems pretty useless to me. Sure if testing a battery and use CC then the current is known and recording voltage lets one calculate mAh over time. But it would be much nicer having both actual readback values.
« Last Edit: September 26, 2020, 10:06:42 pm by Algasman »
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 19642
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent SDL1000X Data Logging
« Reply #4 on: September 26, 2020, 10:15:12 pm »
I am also thinking about buying an electronic load and think the Siglent SDL1020X-E is good value for money.
Is it true that the SDL1000 USB logging records only one selected parameter at a time?
If it does not record a voltage-current pair per sample it seems pretty useless to me. Sure if testing a battery and use CC then the current is known and recording voltage lets one calculate mAh over time. But it would be much nicer having both actual readback values.
Welcome to the forum.

We're still waiting for SW to get full capability from the SDL.
Have a look at Defpom's vid of testing a rechargeable battery:

Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 
The following users thanked this post: Algasman

Offline Algasman

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: de
Re: Siglent SDL1000X Data Logging
« Reply #5 on: September 27, 2020, 08:35:31 am »
I watched it and he had an USB Stick plugged in but that’s about it. No analysis of the recorded data.

My question remains. Does it record only one parameter over time or is it a voltage-current-pair per sample?

With a U I pair one could calculate mAh and mWh over time independent of the discharge mode and not just accumulated mAh as the device shows on the display.
Waiting for the software would mean that a computer is controlling the load the whole time, whereas autonomous recording to the USB would only require the load to be active. All analysis could be done offline.
Low discharge rates can run for days and would occupy the PC running the software only to collect samples.

This is all obvious but I hope Siglent is monitoring this forum and considers this feature in a firmware update because it would be so much easier to implement than writing a bug free control software. It would add value to the Siglent line of DC loads.
 

Offline mjkuwp

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 243
  • Country: us
  • mechanical engineering defector
    • The Mz Lab
Re: Siglent SDL1000X Data Logging
« Reply #6 on: September 27, 2020, 02:36:40 pm »
I am working with a Siglent power supply this moment.  It is quite easy to connect these over LAN and drive them with softwere.  This is also possible over USB.

here is something I typed in at the Python command line

Code: [Select]
PS C:\Users\wolka> python
Python 3.7.1 (v3.7.1:260ec2c36a, Oct 20 2018, 14:57:15) [MSC v.1915 64 bit (AMD64)] on win32
Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information.
>>> import vxi11
>>> Instrument = vxi11.Instrument("192.168.0.72")
>>> Instrument.ask("*IDN?")
'Siglent Technologies,SPD1305X,SPD13CBD3R0349,2.1.1.8,V1.0'
>>> Instrument.ask("VOLT?")
'22.000'

this is made possible the the library python-vxi11

https://pypi.org/project/python-vxi11/
if you have python already installed this is the command to install the library
python -m pip install python-vxi11

I think one would be able to find numerous programming examples.

I have been working with a few different brands of instruments and programming with the IVI commands.  The options are RS232, USB (as a virtual serial port), USBTMC and Ethernet/LAN.

I finally have settled on LAN interface when it is available because I like having the instrument available on my entire network rather than having to direct wire to the specific PC.

btw, the command for measuring power is
MEAS:POWE?


 
The following users thanked this post: Algasman


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf