Author Topic: Agilent U1252B Damage from Recharge with Rotary Switch Movement  (Read 2486 times)

Offline Wing47Topic starter

Agilent U1252B Damage from Recharge with Rotary Switch Movement
« on: September 14, 2014, 04:44:12 pm »
Just pulled my DOM 2011.05 Agilent U1252B off the shelf after about 1.5 years unused and found the Original Battery discharged. No Surprise there. Removed the leads. Grabbed the recharge kit and plugged it in to the main and then into the meter. The looked at the rotary switch and realized I had moved it to ohms position while messing with the leads. Quickly moved it back to the Off/CHG position.  Test cycle posted and then reported battery error. Did test twice more and figured after several years it was best to just chuck it and get a replacement.

While I was reading the manual to get battery specs I noticed a HUGE WARNING to have switch on CHG before connecting charger and NOT MOVE IT while charger is connected. 

As an amateur I figured I would ask you all: What if any damage may have been done by this? 

I could just proceed as if nothing happened and wait for a failure to appear, but I'd rather intercept the damage, make repairs and maybe save some part of this $$$$ gear. 

I tried reaching Agilent but no path seems open without a contract or fee.

Thanks.
« Last Edit: September 14, 2014, 04:49:35 pm by Wing47 »

Offline saturation

• Super Contributor
  • Doveryai, no proveryai
    • NIST
Re: Agilent U1252B Damage from Recharge with Rotary Switch Movement
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2014, 05:46:39 pm »