Author Topic: Amprobe AM-240 vs. Extech MN36  (Read 5887 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline helloworld922

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 57
  • Country: us
    • My personal blog
Amprobe AM-240 vs. Extech MN36
« on: December 12, 2012, 08:06:50 pm »
So I'm thinking of getting a relatively cheap multi-meter that's still functional. I watched Dave's $50 Multimeter Shootout video which reviews the AM-220 which is very similar to the AM-240, which as far as I can tell the only difference is that the AM-240 has temperature capabilities.

I also found the Extech MN-36 which appears to be similar to the Extech EX330 Dave reviewed, though there are a variety of differences:

1. No Non-contact voltage detector
2. CAT-II 600V rating instead of CAT-III 600V
3. Max Frequency measurement of 5 MHz instead of 40 MHz
4. Max capacitance measurement of 100uF instead of 200uF
5. Slightly smaller/lighter

I am able to get either of these meters for around the $35 range (Amazon: Extech MN-36, Zorotools: AmProbe AM-240)

What I intend to do:

1. Mostly home hobby-level electronics, I'm usually interested in battery powered or low-voltage type electronics work. Very rarely I might work with mains (120V), though I don't have any plans to do so in the near future. I love sensors and mechatronic-type circuits
2. The K-Type thermocouple (or other built-in temperature sensor) is a must.

Any suggestions on which of these two probes I should go with? Personally I'm leaning towards the MN-36 because it does have 1 pF capacitance resolution vs. the 10pF resolution of the AM-240, but there datasheet/manual does not specify any tolerances at this range.

Oh, and FYI I also found the Extech EX430 for $55, which is currently outside my the price range but does have true RMS and a bunch of other goodies.
 

Offline retiredcaps

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3363
  • Country: ca
Re: Amprobe AM-240 vs. Extech MN36
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2012, 11:41:35 pm »
Oh, and FYI I also found the Extech EX430 for $55, which is currently outside my the price range but does have true RMS and a bunch of other goodies.

I only comment on what I have used or own and even then my experiences with a sample size of one may not be representative.

The Extech 430 overshoots on all readings.  A lot.  For example, when measuring a simple 9V DC battery, it will display 18.11, then 9.01, then 9.00, then 8.99.  This takes about 1 to 2 seconds before a stable reading is found.

I'm not sure if I'm explaining this correctly, but the Extech 430 AC V mode also goes crazy/fluctuates wildly and never stops in presence of > 10V DC.

Again, your experience may differ from mine.
 

Offline FenderBender

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1118
  • Country: us
    • The Solid State Workshop
Re: Amprobe AM-240 vs. Extech MN36
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2012, 02:09:10 am »
I have an AM-220. It's a solid meter. It won't give you any trouble.

Can't speak for the Extechs. I don't have any. But the AM-220 is a good cheap meter. Probably a little overpriced, but not too bad.

I haven't compared this meter with any others, but the AM-510 might be worth a shot:

http://www.amazon.com/Amprobe-AM-510-Commercial-Residential-Non-Contact/dp/B007FZFTZO/ref=sr_1_1?s=hi&ie=UTF8&qid=1355364664&sr=1-1&keywords=amprobe+am-510
« Last Edit: December 13, 2012, 02:11:40 am by FenderBender »
 

Offline helloworld922

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 57
  • Country: us
    • My personal blog
Re: Amprobe AM-240 vs. Extech MN36
« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2012, 05:44:28 am »
Quote
The Extech 430 overshoots on all readings.  A lot.  For example, when measuring a simple 9V DC battery, it will display 18.11, then 9.01, then 9.00, then 8.99.  This takes about 1 to 2 seconds before a stable reading is found.

Yeah, I noticed Dave's review of the EX330 had similar problems with overshoot, I suspect I might end up with the same problem if I choose an Extech.

Quote
I haven't compared this meter with any others, but the AM-510 might be worth a shot

Not a bad looking meter, though I really want a meter with temperature measurement capabilities so I might consider the AM-520.

Comparing a few of the AM-520 specs with the AM-240:

1. AM-520 can measure up to the 1kV range vs. 600V for the AM-240

2. AM-240 has 0.5A/250V and 10A/250V fuses while AM-520 is spec'd with 0.5A/1000V and 11A/1000V fast fuses.

3. Better temperature resolution for the AM-520 (0.1C vs. 1C), [-40C,1000C] range for AM-520, [-50C, 700C] range for the AM-240, better accuracy for the AM-520

4. Separate mA/uA and V jacks for the AM-520

5. AM-520 has a non-contact voltage detector

6. AM-520 has a flashlight on it (not just a backlight, an actual flashlight)

7. AM-520 comes with a velco strap

8. The AM-520 supposedly has some sort of bar-graph display for fast changing signals

9. AM-240 can measure duty cycle, I don't think the AM-520 has this capability

10. The AM-520 uses a 9V battery, while the AM-240 uses 2 AA batteries.

As far as price goes, the AM-520 is about $5 more expensive than the AM-240 so it's pretty tempting.
« Last Edit: December 13, 2012, 05:57:04 am by helloworld922 »
 

Offline FenderBender

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1118
  • Country: us
    • The Solid State Workshop
Re: Amprobe AM-240 vs. Extech MN36
« Reply #4 on: December 13, 2012, 11:11:39 pm »
It's a pretty good meter for the price. That's where Amprobe succeeds. Not always the absolute best for electronics work, but it's a good value.
 

Offline dr_p

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 308
  • Country: ro
Re: Amprobe AM-240 vs. Extech MN36
« Reply #5 on: December 14, 2012, 12:44:11 pm »
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf