Author Topic: Microscope I need!  (Read 55679 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Psi

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7344
  • Country: nz
Re: Microscope I need!
« Reply #25 on: August 23, 2015, 12:41:18 am »
Possible to disguise a DSLR camera with optical zoom 30X or higher to a professional (atleast for 0201 SMT soldering stuff ) microscope ??

Pl park your comment/s here..

Im trying that atm. using a 135mm zoom lens 3 macro rings and a 2x teleconverter.
Will let you know how it goes once my camera battery is charged

From the few quick tests i did before the battery died it looks like it might work well with a really nice working distance.
But you'd want a DSLR with hdmi output as opposed to one of the older ones that only has composite video.  (Although you might be able to do some hacking to get HD video out over USB in webcam mode)

The hard part might be fixed mounting the DSLR to the top of your work bench so it doesnt shake around from vibrations.
« Last Edit: August 23, 2015, 12:42:50 am by Psi »
Greek letter 'Psi' (not Pounds per Square Inch)
 

Offline MT

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1163
  • Country: fo
Re: Microscope I need!
« Reply #26 on: August 23, 2015, 01:02:02 am »
 

rotnoraj_kanungoe

  • Guest
Re: Microscope I need!
« Reply #27 on: August 23, 2015, 04:51:48 am »
@ Psi

I wish you a VERY good LUCK!! May your attempt/s come true!!



"From the few quick tests i did before the battery died it looks like it might work well with a really nice working distance."

Is the concept of rectifier to a desired specification of any help?




"The hard part might be fixed mounting the DSLR to the top of your work bench so it doesnt shake around from vibrations."

As a Electro-Mechanical designeer, I would certainly recommend you to build a strong, holding cabinet to fit your camera [[[ may can apply mold & cavity concept ]]]...In that case, you can even think of placing the knob of your camera's steeper motor to a desired place and angle sited your need/s....If possible design an absolutely new Electro-Mechanical  system by tearing down your camera..

 :-+ :-+
 

Offline Campus

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 21
Re: Microscope I need!
« Reply #28 on: August 23, 2015, 05:34:12 pm »
I also recommend going for binocular microscope. I bought thishttp://www.aliexpress.com/item/6-7X-45X-BINOCULAR-STEREO-ZOOM-MICROSCOPE-DOUBLE-BOOM-STAND/594767180.html] [url]http://www.aliexpress.com/item/6-7X-45X-BINOCULAR-STEREO-ZOOM-MICROSCOPE-DOUBLE-BOOM-STAND/594767180.html[/url] and I love it. Using a barlow lens of 0.5x gives a nice magnification with a large working area (~18cm).
 

Offline JuKu

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 566
  • Country: fi
    • LitePlacer - The Low Cost DIY Pick and Place Machine
Re: Microscope I need!
« Reply #29 on: September 08, 2015, 02:22:44 pm »
I have used Mantis and "regular" stereo microscopes. In my lab I have a regular type now. It is just fine, but I don't do soldering work that much anymore. I used to work with a Mantis. I tried USB, but there is no way I could give up stereo vision once I got used to it.

Mantis is superb in ergonomics, because you don't need to hold your head steady. You don't develop more neck ache than you do from computer work. With a regular microscope, you need to hold your eyes right at the eyepieces, which gives you a stiff neck if you do that many hours a day.

And of course, the optical view quality of Mantis is great, too.
« Last Edit: September 08, 2015, 02:24:24 pm by JuKu »
http://www.liteplacer.com - The Low Cost DIY Pick and Place Machine
 

Offline LabSpokane

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1899
  • Country: us
Re: Microscope I need!
« Reply #30 on: September 08, 2015, 06:24:43 pm »
Get an optical stereo microscope. I have no idea how I'd live without one now. And what Bernice said about optical quality is spot on. The big problem with buying used is ending up with a scope that is not aligned and or outright broken. I bought Meiji that was shipped improperly and it was totally useless. The Chinese Olympus clone that replaced it was so much better it was ridiculous.

If you can buy used. Try to get a good enough price that sending it to someone like Absolute Clarity for overhaul works for you. Mine was damaged to the point that it wasn't worth the risk.
 

Offline fivefish

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 439
  • Country: us
Re: Microscope I need!
« Reply #31 on: September 08, 2015, 06:36:23 pm »
Don't just look at magnification factor. Depth of field is another important factor. Some lenses at high magnification have very very shallow depth of field... just a few hair width in front or behind the focus point and it's very blurred..
 

Offline KL27x

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3499
  • Country: us
Re: Microscope I need!
« Reply #32 on: September 09, 2015, 09:53:56 pm »
All lenses have a shorter focal depth as higher magnification. That's how it works.

More for FOV than for height, I prefer to use a 0.5 Barlow lens. (Heck, I think the main reason I use my scope is for the light ring; if my magnifying lamp was as rock steady and had similar working distance, it would be a much smaller gap between the two.)

For the height issue using a Barlow, I find it very useful to have a 45 degree eyepiece and a tilt-adjustable head. You can get a lot of leeway with your eye-height by adjusting this angle, when you might need to work on taller objects.

The problem with angling the objective is the focal depth becomes more of an issue. So it only works well to a certain point.
« Last Edit: September 09, 2015, 10:01:41 pm by KL27x »
 

Offline John_ITIC

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 423
  • Country: us
  • ITIC Protocol Analyzers
    • International Test Instruments Corporation
Re: Microscope I need!
« Reply #33 on: September 10, 2015, 06:58:48 am »
This is what I currently use and can fully recommend: http://www.bresser.de/en/Microscopes-Magnifiers/Bresser-Biorit-ICD-CS-Stereo-Microscope.html

McBryce.

I have the exact same microscope. I'm using 20x eye pieces. I went through a large number of light bulbs originally but, lately the quality have improved. The bulbs were a bit hard to find so I had to buy from the microscope seller. Apparently, some kind of "projector-lamp". Overall, the microscope is okay but the lighting is not good. Details are a bit dark and the lamp has to be adjusted sometimes. I've had mine since 2005 and still going strong. I have not had need to upgrade.
« Last Edit: September 10, 2015, 07:02:23 am by John_ITIC »
1480A USB 2.0 LS/FS/HS/OTG 1.3 Protocol Analyzer - $695 USD
2500A PCI Express 1.1 2.5 Gbps Protocol Analyzer - $6,995 USD
Enter "EEVBLOG" for a 20% discount at https://www.internationaltestinstruments.com
 

Offline McBryce

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1346
  • Country: de
Re: Microscope I need!
« Reply #34 on: September 10, 2015, 12:57:58 pm »
This is what I currently use and can fully recommend: http://www.bresser.de/en/Microscopes-Magnifiers/Bresser-Biorit-ICD-CS-Stereo-Microscope.html

McBryce.

I have the exact same microscope. I'm using 20x eye pieces. I went through a large number of light bulbs originally but, lately the quality have improved. The bulbs were a bit hard to find so I had to buy from the microscope seller. Apparently, some kind of "projector-lamp". Overall, the microscope is okay but the lighting is not good. Details are a bit dark and the lamp has to be adjusted sometimes. I've had mine since 2005 and still going strong. I have not had need to upgrade.

The two bulbs originally supplied with my microscope both failed after about 10 to 15 minutes each. I contacted Bresser and they sent me two new bulbs for free which had a completely different filament and the first of those has continued working since then (almost a year now).

McBryce.
 

rotnoraj_kanungoe

  • Guest
Re: Microscope I need!
« Reply #35 on: February 03, 2016, 05:12:30 am »
@Psi

"Im trying that atm. using a 135mm zoom lens 3 macro rings and a 2x teleconverter.
Will let you know how it goes once my camera battery is charged

From the few quick tests i did before the battery died it looks like it might work well with a really nice working distance.
But you'd want a DSLR with hdmi output as opposed to one of the older ones that only has composite video.  (Although you might be able to do some hacking to get HD video out over USB in webcam mode)

The hard part might be fixed mounting the DSLR to the top of your work bench so it doesnt shake around from vibrations."

We haven't found any test result/s from your end............
 

Offline Psi

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7344
  • Country: nz
Re: Microscope I need!
« Reply #36 on: February 05, 2016, 05:41:38 am »
It does work but a camera and display isn't very good for soldering. I would take a $400 china microscope over a $5000 targano for soldering things any day.

Got this microscope+camera at work and for the price its pretty damn good.
The camera is zoomed in a bit more than I would like though.
Camera quality is what you would expect. But at least it's hdmi so no USB lag unless you use its USB interface. Which is useful for taking screenshots or movies.
There is a leaver that switches one of the objectives between camera or eyepiece

http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Continuous-zoom-binocular-visual-7-90X-Trinocular-stereo-microscope-14MP-HDMI-USB-Industrial-Camera-56-LED/32510334237.html?spm=2114.01010208.3.18.VdBIsk&ws_ab_test=searchweb201556_3,searchweb201644_3_505_506_503_504_502_10001_10002_10016_10017_10010_10005_10011_10006_10003_10004_10009_10008,searchweb201560_2,searchweb1451318400_-1,searchweb1451318411_6451&btsid=69ca1442-6753-488e-ac76-683279906edc
« Last Edit: February 05, 2016, 05:46:52 am by Psi »
Greek letter 'Psi' (not Pounds per Square Inch)
 

Offline Fat

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 113
  • Country: us
Re: Microscope I need!
« Reply #37 on: February 05, 2016, 04:30:36 pm »
It does work but a camera and display isn't very good for soldering. I would take a $400 china microscope over a $5000 targano for soldering things any day.

Got this microscope+camera at work and for the price its pretty damn good.
The camera is zoomed in a bit more than I would like though.
Camera quality is what you would expect. But at least it's hdmi so no USB lag unless you use its USB interface. Which is useful for taking screenshots or movies.
There is a leaver that switches one of the objectives between camera or eyepiece

http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Continuous-zoom-binocular-visual-7-90X-Trinocular-stereo-microscope-14MP-HDMI-USB-Industrial-Camera-56-LED/32510334237.html?spm=2114.01010208.3.18.VdBIsk&ws_ab_test=searchweb201556_3,searchweb201644_3_505_506_503_504_502_10001_10002_10016_10017_10010_10005_10011_10006_10003_10004_10009_10008,searchweb201560_2,searchweb1451318400_-1,searchweb1451318411_6451&btsid=69ca1442-6753-488e-ac76-683279906edc

It looks a lot like my Omano 2300S. The color on some of the parts are a bit different. Way cheaper too. Nice score.

Did it come on that stand or did you get a boom arm for it?
 

rotnoraj_kanungoe

  • Guest
Re: Microscope I need!
« Reply #38 on: February 06, 2016, 03:46:03 pm »
@ Psi

We all would love to see if you can kindly pin some photo/s on both your former and current experiment/s....
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf