Author Topic: Fluke PM6306 RCL Meter Discussions + Teardown  (Read 27095 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline BravoV

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7331
  • Country: 00
  • +++ ATH1
Re: Fluke PM6306 RCL Meter Discussions
« Reply #50 on: July 26, 2015, 12:04:26 pm »
Great set of pictures, thanks! I like some gear porn in the morning.

My pleasure, glad you like it.


Very nice set of pictures indeed.
So, when you turn it on, you see FW v 1.4 on the screen, right?

Thanks.

Yes, it shows 1.4 at lcd from a blip when turned on. Btw, as you own few of these beasts, just curious, whats the latest version ?

Offline HighVoltage

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4702
  • Country: de
Re: Fluke PM6306 RCL Meter Discussions
« Reply #51 on: July 26, 2015, 12:11:19 pm »
Yes, it shows 1.4 at lcd from a blip when turned on. Btw, as you own few of these beasts, just curious, whats the latest version ?
Two of them show FW v1.5 and one of them shows FW v1.6
Version 1.6 was the latest.
But I think there is no difference in the functionality of the different versions from 1.4 to 1.6

There are 3 kinds of people in this world, those who can count and those who can not.
 

Offline wiss

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 485
  • Country: ch
Re: Fluke PM6306 RCL Meter Discussions + Teardown
« Reply #52 on: July 26, 2015, 07:57:09 pm »
The 22n cap looks like a polystyrene, they can not stand any heat so no smd-version of those. I would guess it is used for an integrator.
 

Offline BravoV

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7331
  • Country: 00
  • +++ ATH1
Re: Fluke PM6306 RCL Meter Discussions
« Reply #53 on: July 27, 2015, 04:02:25 am »
Two of them show FW v1.5 and one of them shows FW v1.6
Version 1.6 was the latest.
But I think there is no difference in the functionality of the different versions from 1.4 to 1.6

Don't worry, that question is just for my curiosity sake  :P, don't even have the gut to replace that firmware without knowing the detail, the calibration may be gone or worst something bad may happened by just blindly replace the firmware rom.   |O

As you own 3 of this, do you anything to comment about that button battery in the logic board ?

Should I worry about it as its almost 17 years old (date code 98).  :'(

Offline BravoV

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7331
  • Country: 00
  • +++ ATH1
Re: Fluke PM6306 RCL Meter Discussions + Teardown
« Reply #54 on: July 27, 2015, 04:04:26 am »
The 22n cap looks like a polystyrene, they can not stand any heat so no smd-version of those. I would guess it is used for an integrator.

Ok, interesting observation, noted.

Is it possible that is the reference cap ? Unlikely right ? As that polystyrene cap is not the best when it comes to stability, cmiiw.

Offline The Electrician

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 583
  • Country: us
Re: Fluke PM6306 RCL Meter Discussions + Teardown
« Reply #55 on: July 27, 2015, 07:37:21 am »
There are some fixtures from Chinese manufacturers that aren't too bad: http://www.ebay.com/itm/TH26001A-4-terminal-test-fixture-for-LCR-meter-TH2811D-/330561107682?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item4cf6fa36e2

I have one of these, but I've only used it a low frequencies.  In a day or so I will be back where I can test it at higher frequencies.

May you could figure out a way to kluge one of these low cost fixtures to your meter.
 

Offline HighVoltage

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4702
  • Country: de
Re: Fluke PM6306 RCL Meter Discussions + Teardown
« Reply #56 on: July 27, 2015, 08:00:38 am »
May you could figure out a way to kluge one of these low cost fixtures to your meter.
That should be possible.
It looks like a good starting point.
There are 3 kinds of people in this world, those who can count and those who can not.
 

Offline wiss

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 485
  • Country: ch
Re: Fluke PM6306 RCL Meter Discussions + Teardown
« Reply #57 on: July 27, 2015, 08:48:34 am »
The 22n cap looks like a polystyrene, they can not stand any heat so no smd-version of those. I would guess it is used for an integrator.

Ok, interesting observation, noted.

Is it possible that is the reference cap ? Unlikely right ? As that polystyrene cap is not the best when it comes to stability, cmiiw.

The have low DA, there has been one (as ADC integrator) in most (bench-) multimeters I have opened.
 

Offline BravoV

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7331
  • Country: 00
  • +++ ATH1
Re: Fluke PM6306 RCL Meter Discussions + Teardown
« Reply #58 on: July 28, 2015, 04:07:08 am »
There are some fixtures from Chinese manufacturers that aren't too bad: http://www.ebay.com/itm/TH26001A-4-terminal-test-fixture-for-LCR-meter-TH2811D-/330561107682?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item4cf6fa36e2

I have one of these, but I've only used it a low frequencies.  In a day or so I will be back where I can test it at higher frequencies.

May you could figure out a way to kluge one of these low cost fixtures to your meter.

Thanks, isn't that a clone of old HP LCR fixture ? Whats the max frequency did you use it thats still accurate enough ?

Looking at the connectors at the back, the two outer ones are obviously BNC, whats the middle two ?

Offline The Electrician

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 583
  • Country: us
Re: Fluke PM6306 RCL Meter Discussions + Teardown
« Reply #59 on: July 31, 2015, 08:36:47 am »
I tested the fixture in question up to 5 MHz tonight.  It's not too bad up to 5 MHz, and definitely ok up to 1 MHz.  This is with a meter having the 4 BNC interface, of course.  I don't if you could kluge it to your meter and still get adequate performance.

The middle two connectors are also BNC, but without the outer sleeve.
 

Offline BravoV

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7331
  • Country: 00
  • +++ ATH1
Re: Fluke PM6306 RCL Meter Discussions + Teardown
« Reply #60 on: August 03, 2015, 05:21:15 am »
I tested the fixture in question up to 5 MHz tonight.  It's not too bad up to 5 MHz, and definitely ok up to 1 MHz.  This is with a meter having the 4 BNC interface, of course.  I don't if you could kluge it to your meter and still get adequate performance.

The middle two connectors are also BNC, but without the outer sleeve.

Ok, noted, as I spotted this Tonghui test fixture is affordable, saved in the shopping list.  :P


Meanwhile, I'm not abandoning this thread, still waiting my Kelvin clips to arrive from Franky (iloveelectronics), <sigh> ... waiting sux.  :-\

Offline banditbiker

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: nl
Re: Fluke PM6306 RCL Meter Discussions + Teardown
« Reply #61 on: November 10, 2015, 06:52:14 pm »
Hello,

I have one of these units, a PM6306/073 with firmware 1.2.

It has a problem. Zero trim fails on 100 and 120Hz.
The weird thing is the Oct and Sct order is different from when I zero trim on 1 kHz.
100Hz: first Sct and then Oct then fails.
1kHz: first Oct then Sct then pass.

Anyone has this problem too?
I would be interested in obtaining a copy of the EEPROM (version 1.2 or higher) to check if its a firmware issue.

Looking forward hearing your offers/ideas.
 

Offline BravoV

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7331
  • Country: 00
  • +++ ATH1
Re: Fluke PM6306 RCL Meter Discussions + Teardown
« Reply #62 on: November 11, 2015, 03:51:34 am »
Weird problems, although mine doesn't have that, sorry, I don't have any clue what is happening with yours, maybe others can chime in ?

Regarding eeprom, mine is 1.4, its just currently I don't have my writer/reader with me now.

Once I got it, I will post it here, even it won't fix yours, who know it will help others that have corrupted eeprom in the future.

Btw, do you have the PM6306 service manual ? Mind share it ?

Offline HighVoltage

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4702
  • Country: de
Re: Fluke PM6306 RCL Meter Discussions + Teardown
« Reply #63 on: November 15, 2015, 06:35:16 pm »
Hello,

I have one of these units, a PM6306/073 with firmware 1.2.

It has a problem. Zero trim fails on 100 and 120Hz.
The weird thing is the Oct and Sct order is different from when I zero trim on 1 kHz.
100Hz: first Sct and then Oct then fails.
1kHz: first Oct then Sct then pass.

Anyone has this problem too?
I would be interested in obtaining a copy of the EEPROM (version 1.2 or higher) to check if its a firmware issue.

Looking forward hearing your offers/ideas.

At 100Hz and 120Hz the dominant component is the DC resistive part and not any inductive or capacitive component.
So, it is normal for the unit to show this behavior.

It seems you have a problem with your cables.
Try a short-block and see, if the problem persist.
I would expect the problem to be gone then

BTW, what kind of Cable are you using
The one with the LEMO connector or 2mm banana plugs?

There are 3 kinds of people in this world, those who can count and those who can not.
 

Offline banditbiker

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: nl
Re: Fluke PM6306 RCL Meter Discussions + Teardown
« Reply #64 on: November 16, 2015, 01:48:39 pm »
Well at 50Hz, 60Hz and 200Hz the unit performs as it does at 1kHz.
Its only the 100 and 120 where the zero trim order is reverse and fails.

I have the original Philips 9541A cable with Kelvin clips.
I dont have a short block...
 

Offline HighVoltage

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4702
  • Country: de
Re: Fluke PM6306 RCL Meter Discussions + Teardown
« Reply #65 on: November 17, 2015, 09:23:13 am »
You can make yourself some very short cables to simulate a short block.
Use the Hirschmann 2 mm banana plugs, they work well for this.


There are 3 kinds of people in this world, those who can count and those who can not.
 

Offline HighVoltage

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4702
  • Country: de
Re: Fluke PM6306 RCL Meter Discussions + Teardown
« Reply #66 on: November 23, 2015, 09:14:54 am »
I was not aware, that these Philips / Fluke RCL meters were available as a Wayne-Kerr brand.

Look at this interesting PDF...
http://www.waynekerrtest.com/brochure/4265%20and%204270.pdf
There are 3 kinds of people in this world, those who can count and those who can not.
 

Offline mzspring

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: cn
Re: Fluke PM6306 RCL Meter Discussions + Teardown
« Reply #67 on: June 24, 2021, 03:01:36 am »
Can you take a high-definition picture of this position for me?

And measure their values

PM6306 for V1.6
« Last Edit: June 24, 2021, 05:31:09 am by mzspring »
 

Offline HighVoltage

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4702
  • Country: de
Re: Fluke PM6306 RCL Meter Discussions + Teardown
« Reply #68 on: June 24, 2021, 07:54:30 am »
I can do it over the weekend
There are 3 kinds of people in this world, those who can count and those who can not.
 

Offline mzspring

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: cn
Re: Fluke PM6306 RCL Meter Discussions + Teardown
« Reply #69 on: June 25, 2021, 05:00:03 am »
Thank you, I have a PM6306 V1.6 damaged.

 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf