Author Topic: Bench PSU suggestions for laptop/phone repairs  (Read 687 times)

Offline TechnomancerTopic starter

• Contributor
Bench PSU suggestions for laptop/phone repairs
« on: April 17, 2020, 09:25:04 pm »
Hello folks,

Sorry for another "PSU suggestions" thread but I could use some advice. I am looking to get a bench PSU to do some board work on laptops, phones and probably some other things to as I get more into it. I am a complete n00b, however, when it comes to PSUs like some of the ones you guys talk about here.  I have seen several posts about the Rigol 832(a) that some people seem to like but just as many extolling the virtues of buying one from a better brand such as Agilent or Keysight. Being fairly new this I don't really know what would be considered under-performing or overkill for types of repairs I was mentioning. I don't really have a budget per se but as I am just starting out with this I am not looking to break the bank on a unit that I would likely never fully use to its potential. Any suggestions you can offer (and reason why you suggested it) would be greatly appreciated.

Offline Messtechniker

• Frequent Contributor
  • Old analog audio hand - No voodoo.
Re: Bench PSU suggestions for laptop/phone repairs
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2020, 09:55:12 pm »
How about some requirement specs?
For powering laptops you will at least need something like
19 VDC and/or 21 VDC current limited to about 2 to 3 A.
Possibly also other voltages and currents depending
on the type of laptop you are planning to operate.

Plus a good selection of laptop power supply plugs.
There are about 40 different types.  :palm:
« Last Edit: April 17, 2020, 09:56:48 pm by Messtechniker »
Agilent 34465A, Siglent SDG 2042X, Hameg HMO1022, R&S HMC 8043, Peaktech 2025A, Voltcraft VC 940, M-Audio Audiophile 192, R&S Psophometer UPGR, 3 Transistor Testers, DL4JAL Transistor Curve Tracer, UT622E LCR meter

The following users thanked this post: Electro Detective