Author Topic: Best portable scope under $200 for pinball work  (Read 1815 times)

Offline SilverBallzzzTopic starter

Best portable scope under $200 for pinball work
« on: November 30, 2022, 07:55:06 pm »
Hi - Newbie here, first post alert!

I need a portable oscilloscope primarily for basic debugging and troubleshooting of pinball machines, guitar amplifiers, engine controls (both automotive and marine). Ideally, I'm hoping to find something suitable for under $200 and believe I have reasonable expectations for workman's tool rather than a precision bench testing instrument for developing new designs.

Specwise and applications, I think I need at least a 2-channel scope with at least 50MHz of real bandwidth with simple triggering, memory is nice and USB to transfer screen caps would be useful. A built in signal generator would also be great. Voltage protection if I forget to use a 10x probe on 600V bias test points. Many of the pinball machines are old TTL logic running slow MPU's in the 6800 series family, etc. Simple signal tracing. Looking for AC ripple on power supplies. Bad filter caps, etc. Am I missing something?

There are a lot of cheap candidates on eBay, Amazon, etc and many aren't listed here like the Leolov. Specifically,

1. Leolov: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0B497T6HR?ref_=cm_sw_r_cp_ud_dp_FV71VMZ3VNZ2P25RP8F6 (there nothing about this brand on these forums)
2. FNIRSI 1013D https://a.co/d/59wj3Yk
3. FNIRSI 1014D https://a.co/d/01C7WaU

I am familiar with the other brands like Rigol, Siglent, etc but these are out of my price range. But - sanity check, please - am I being penny wise and dollar foolish?

Again, I don't expect a precision test instrument. I just need a basic troubleshooting aid and understand its unreasonable to expect much in support or high levels of accuracy in this price range. So... thoughts and suggestions?

Sincerely appreciate any thoughts and recommendations!!

Offline tunk

• Frequent Contributor