Author Topic: BK Precision 2540B-GEN blank screen  (Read 501 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Galen

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 110
  • Country: cn
BK Precision 2540B-GEN blank screen
« on: July 15, 2020, 02:14:59 am »
All, I got a BK 2540B-GEN, startup with blank screen, cost 30 bucks. The seller said no repair for it. It's a BW 60MHz with 1GSa/s, plus a 20MHz arbitrary wave generator. As it's body appearance is good, and price is so low, I bought it. Will reach to me in 2 days.

Blank screen, so the power maybe OK, but need to check. Then possible problem could be the CPU reset circuit, or a bad crystal? Will check by this sequence when received it.

Searched the internet, can only find the user manual, no service manual.

The BW is a bit lower. There is a BK2542B-GEN with 100MHz BW and 40MHz wave generator. I guess there should be a way to do a BW upgrade for BK2540B-GEN, but didn't find any clue on the net. Very appreciate if you know something about this and can share here. Thanks in advance.
Delighted when problem fixed
 

Offline Galen

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 110
  • Country: cn
Re: BK Precision 2540B-GEN blank screen
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2020, 04:05:20 pm »
The scope was fixed last Thursday night. 
Initial check found the +5V is almost 0V. And the 7805 IC is very hot.  So I replaced the 7805 IC.  but +5V still 0.
So must be a short in the main board. Visual check, didn't find any abnormal. 
Measure +5V lead to GND at main board, short circuit.  So trace the +5V trace, desolder a cap 470u, found it's short.  Measure the +5V lead to GND, still short.  Then desolder another cap 470u on the +5V trace, it's short too.  Measure +5V lead to GND, no short anymore.
Replace these 2 cap. install the power board and main board back, power on the scope, it LIVE! everything is normal.  Self cal passed. Great!
Next steps could be:
1. lmprove the ventilation, add heat sink to a few ICs.
2. Try to hack the scope to 100M BW.  Will try to through network connection.
« Last Edit: July 25, 2020, 04:07:53 pm by Galen »
Delighted when problem fixed
 

Offline tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1814
  • Country: pt
Re: BK Precision 2540B-GEN blank screen
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2020, 04:55:01 pm »
2. Try to hack the scope to 100M BW.  Will try to through network connection.

Should be the same as an old Siglent SDS. Maybe I can help.

Show us a picture of the System Info menu.
« Last Edit: July 25, 2020, 05:29:00 pm by tv84 »
 

Offline Galen

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 110
  • Country: cn
Re: BK Precision 2540B-GEN blank screen
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2020, 10:06:06 pm »
Thanks a lot tv84. I will take a picture of the system info screen in a few days (I am currently out of the city).
BTW, the scope looks like Tonghui TDO3062B/S.
B&K precision product link, scope was introduced in Y2012.
https://www.bkprecision.com/products/discontinued/2542B-GEN-100-mhz-1-gsa-s-digital-storage-oscilloscope-with-arbitrary-waveform-generator.html
https://www.bkprecision.com/products/oscilloscopes/2540B-GEN-60-mhz-1-gsa-digital-storage-oscilloscope.html
Delighted when problem fixed
 

Offline Galen

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 110
  • Country: cn
Re: BK Precision 2540B-GEN blank screen
« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2020, 11:08:10 pm »
Found the system screen in the user manual. They are same except company name.
Delighted when problem fixed
 

Offline tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1814
  • Country: pt
Re: BK Precision 2540B-GEN blank screen
« Reply #5 on: July 26, 2020, 04:42:43 pm »
Do you have a copy of the FW (any version)?
 

Offline Galen

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 110
  • Country: cn
Re: BK Precision 2540B-GEN blank screen
« Reply #6 on: July 26, 2020, 09:52:39 pm »
Yes Sir.  Downloaded it a few days ago from B&K Precision website.  Today, when I checked in B&K's website, it disappeared from the download list! At least I got 1 copy.
Delighted when problem fixed
 
The following users thanked this post: tv84

Offline tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1814
  • Country: pt
Re: BK Precision 2540B-GEN blank screen
« Reply #7 on: July 27, 2020, 06:04:55 pm »
I thought that your scope would be similar to a Siglent, looking at this:


But, from the FW that you shared, I can see that the FW is totally different from Siglent. So I can't help you, sorry.

It's a Blackfin processor so it's not impossible to do some patching in the model to make it 100 MHz BUT I don't know details about the FW format (at least, it doesn't' appear obfuscated/encrypted like Siglent's).
 

Offline Galen

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 110
  • Country: cn
Re: BK Precision 2540B-GEN blank screen
« Reply #8 on: July 27, 2020, 10:28:37 pm »
Dear tv84, actually, you already helped me by providing these information. So, thank you very much.
I remember it's main board picture is different from the one you shared above. I will put one here.
Yes, I guess changing it's model number should works. So will see if some command, like 'set model 2542B', works or not.
firstly, using *IDN´╝čto confirm the communication.
« Last Edit: July 27, 2020, 10:31:45 pm by Galen »
Delighted when problem fixed
 

Offline Galen

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 110
  • Country: cn
Re: BK Precision 2540B-GEN blank screen
« Reply #9 on: July 28, 2020, 11:30:19 pm »
Tried 'IDN?' , the scope reply it's ID 2540B-GEN, so network communication is good.  But tried a few commands to set the ID, restart the scope, no joy.
Where to find the right command to set the  scope model ID?
Delighted when problem fixed
 

Offline Galen

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 110
  • Country: cn
Re: BK Precision 2540B-GEN blank screen
« Reply #10 on: August 24, 2020, 01:44:14 pm »
The CPU is Blackfin BF531. very similar with Rigol DS1052E.  Any suggestion to hack the firmware? Very appreciate any suggestions.
Delighted when problem fixed
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf