Author Topic: BK Precision LCR meter 879b with ADC failure  (Read 13435 times)

Offline ElektronikLaborTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
    • YouTube: ElektronikLabor
BK Precision LCR meter 879b with ADC failure
« on: September 01, 2014, 03:17:19 pm »
Hello everybody,
I allways wanted an decent LCR-Meter. Now I found an faulty BK Precision 879b on eBay; Dave made an Video of it some time ago:

I did't buy it yet; it's on sale right now.

The display of this faulty device shows Err E02: the manual says that this is an ADC failure. On the internet I found out, that this accours when you try to measure capacitance of a charged cap :palm:

As an beginner I would like to ask: how big is the chance to repair this meter?
I can't find any schematics or service manual, so I can't imagine what could be wrong. :(

Sorry that I don't post the url of the auction. I'm afraid that could affect the final cost.

Offline robrenz

• Super Contributor
  • Real Machinist, Wannabe EE
Re: BK Precision LCR meter 879b with ADC failure
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2014, 03:36:10 pm »
As cheap as the DE-5000 LCR meters are available now (aprox $125.00), I would seriously consider one over the BK.

Offline omgfire

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2014, 04:02:49 pm »
As cheap as the DE-5000 LCR meters are available now (aprox $125.00), I would seriously consider one over the BK.
Even lower, if you don't need USB adapter.

Offline mij59

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2014, 04:39:54 pm »
There's no information how severe the damage is, it could be a blown fuse, it could be beyond economical repair.
Even if you managed to repair it, you probably need to calibrate the meter.

Offline ElektronikLaborTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
    • YouTube: ElektronikLabor
« Reply #4 on: September 02, 2014, 11:03:07 am »
Thank You all for the replies.
This one looks great!