Author Topic: Bolloxed up my DP811 calibration. Now unbolloxed. Re bolloxed.  (Read 580 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline purpose

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 52
  • Country: gb
Evening all,
I was fiddling with my DP811 after one too many and have somehow managed to lose output when attempting manual calibration.
I'm pretty sure I cleared the cal (only the whisky knows why) and now I have nothing to measure.
Output when not in cal mode works, but is all over the shop.
Any DP gurus to steer me in the right direction?

Yours in hope.
Peter
« Last Edit: July 13, 2019, 09:27:47 pm by purpose »
 

Offline thm_w

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1120
  • Country: ca
Re: Bolloxed up my DP811 calibration.
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2019, 06:50:53 am »
Did you reset the power supply already and issue is was same?

If so whats stopping you from running through all the manual cal. Do you have the proper equipment to do all the calibration steps?
 

Offline purpose

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 52
  • Country: gb
Re: Bolloxed up my DP811 calibration.
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2019, 07:35:32 am »
When you say reset, do you mean a hard reset back to factory defaults?
If so, no.  Didn't know there was one.
Running the manual cal is devoid of any output, on any of the cal points, so I can't measure anything.
Proper equipment is a Keithley 2015.
 

Offline thm_w

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1120
  • Country: ca
Re: Bolloxed up my DP811 calibration.
« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2019, 07:49:13 am »
When you say reset, do you mean a hard reset back to factory defaults?
If so, no.  Didn't know there was one.
Running the manual cal is devoid of any output, on any of the cal points, so I can't measure anything.
Proper equipment is a Keithley 2015.

By reset I just meant power on/off the supply.
OK that is very odd if you are not getting any output at all. I wouldn't think the state of the CAL data would matter.. especially since you are still getting some voltage in regular mode (so shouldn't be a blown fuse).
 

Offline purpose

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 52
  • Country: gb
Re: Bolloxed up my DP811 calibration.
« Reply #4 on: July 09, 2019, 07:51:22 am »
Very odd indeed. I think I need another drink.
 

Offline Pinkus

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 591
Re: Bolloxed up my DP811 calibration.
« Reply #5 on: July 09, 2019, 07:51:45 am »
I recently lost the calibration of my DP832 during a firmware update.
I then started manual calibration, but I quickly recognized, that it would take a few hours as there are a lot of calibration points.
There are a few (99% identical) Python calibration scripts out here, which you can use with a SCPI DMM.
For the start - here is one link (there are more): https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/rigol-dp831dp831a-calibration-script-using-dm3086-calibration-script/msg980507/#msg980507
Then, the calibration will take a hour but will run almost automatically (you will have to switch the DMM cable connection for calibrating the current though).
Good luck!

P.S. I almost forgot: If you own only a DP811, you will need to hack your device first to a DP811A to make the LAN port working. Just search for hacking a DP832 ....

P.P.S. Manual calibration did not give me any output first too and I still do not know why. Scripted calibration did work.
« Last Edit: July 09, 2019, 07:54:45 am by Pinkus »
 

Offline purpose

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 52
  • Country: gb
Re: Bolloxed up my DP811 calibration.
« Reply #6 on: July 09, 2019, 08:01:49 am »
Ah yes... python in my future... I was hoping to avoid that, but may have to dive in.
Already upgraded to A, which is when I noticed the voltages were off and why I thought a calibration would be in order.

Ta.
 

Offline purpose

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 52
  • Country: gb
Re: Bolloxed up my DP811 calibration.
« Reply #7 on: July 11, 2019, 01:21:12 am »
Now unbolloxed.
Read a bit of material, then fudged my way through.
Loaded in all new calibration points over Lan and then manually calibrated.

Off to wrap my aching neck in alcohol.
Ta
 
The following users thanked this post: thm_w

Offline purpose

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 52
  • Country: gb
Re: Bolloxed up my DP811 calibration. Now unbolloxed. Re bolloxed.
« Reply #8 on: July 13, 2019, 09:30:50 pm »
Afternoon all.
I seem to lose the calibration after saving and switching off the unit.
I think it might be something to do with the Cal Time not being set.
Any ideas how to set it?

Cheers
Peter

 

Offline tv84

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 696
  • Country: pt
Re: Bolloxed up my DP811 calibration. Now unbolloxed. Re bolloxed.
« Reply #9 on: July 14, 2019, 12:39:01 am »
Maybe you should set the time prior to cal and then do the cal.
 

Offline purpose

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 52
  • Country: gb
Re: Bolloxed up my DP811 calibration. Now unbolloxed. Re bolloxed.
« Reply #10 on: July 14, 2019, 12:58:24 am »
Setting the time would be my objective. Do you know how it's done?
 

Offline tv84

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 696
  • Country: pt
 

Offline JDubU

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 222
Re: Bolloxed up my DP811 calibration. Now unbolloxed. Re bolloxed.
« Reply #12 on: July 14, 2019, 01:20:15 am »
Afternoon all.
I seem to lose the calibration after saving and switching off the unit.
I think it might be something to do with the Cal Time not being set.
Any ideas how to set it?

Cheers
Peter

Attached PDF might help:
 

Offline purpose

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 52
  • Country: gb
Re: Bolloxed up my DP811 calibration. Now unbolloxed. Re bolloxed.
« Reply #13 on: July 14, 2019, 01:31:50 am »
JDubU... You're a demi god and macho man.... may you live for a thousand years.

There it was...  :CALibration:End 12/31/2014,CH1 Date format MO/DY/YEAR

Cheers
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf