Author Topic: Budget Logic analyzer, which one do you recommend ?  (Read 23789 times)

Offline bonuxTopic starter

Budget Logic analyzer, which one do you recommend ?
« on: January 30, 2016, 10:22:38 am »
Hi everyone

I am an electronics hobbyist (french... nobody's perfect  ;) )and I'd like to purchase an used Logic analyzer on the bay.
I program cypress PSoc 5LP and I already use saleae logic USB analyzer to debug my applications.
I'd like to own a desktop LA because at some point, I might consider trying parallel communication
and I'd like to learn how to handle a "real" one.

So here is my question : which model/ brand would you recommend for an affordable, serial decode capable
LA with limited multichannel acquisition capacity (I won't need more than 32 channels in the near future...) ? I've already browsed the internet and HP/Agilent
16700+ seem to lack serial protocol decode, and Tektronix 700 series seem more appropriate but I'm not certain of this.

thanks for your advice !
Have a good day,
Michel

« Last Edit: January 30, 2016, 10:39:37 am by bonux »

Offline Pinkus

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Budget Logic analyzer, which one do you recommend ?
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2016, 10:32:37 am »
take a look at the Intronix Logicport. Download the full software at their www.intronix.com site. It is fully functional and -when no Logicport is attached- it simulates it. It takes a few minutes to get over the quirks of the software (non standard functioniality of mouse buttons etc.) but then it is OK.

« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2016, 10:36:09 am »
Hi pinkus

this product seems really fine, looks like an upgraded saleae Logic.

I should have pointed out that I am looking for a standalone device, and both saleae and intronix need a PC.
Thanks for your timely answer
Michel

Online 0xdeadbeef

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2016, 11:31:34 am »