Author Topic: Buttons on SDS1202X-E stopped working  (Read 4894 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline AndrewLoomis

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 24
  • Country: us
Buttons on SDS1202X-E stopped working
« on: May 27, 2018, 04:58:51 pm »
In the middle of using my Siglent SDS1202X-E oscilloscope, the buttons on the front panel just stopped working. I have previously set up the LAN control with EasyScopeX, and I can still control the scope via LAN, so it seems like its still working, I just can't get the physical buttons on the front panel to do anything, not even a beep. Did I activate some lock-out feature, or is the front panel most likely broken?
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 18689
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Buttons on SDS1202X-E stopped working
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2018, 09:04:38 pm »
In the middle of using my Siglent SDS1202X-E oscilloscope, the buttons on the front panel just stopped working. I have previously set up the LAN control with EasyScopeX, and I can still control the scope via LAN, so it seems like its still working, I just can't get the physical buttons on the front panel to do anything, not even a beep. Did I activate some lock-out feature, or is the front panel most likely broken?
Hmmm.
Probably the ribbon cable connection between the mainboard and the front panel PCB but it could be at either end.
IIRC some 1054Z owner had a similar problem recently, however if you have a Siglent service center close it should really go back for warranty repair. Try and make sure you get informed of the actual fault and if you can report back here so that other owners can maybe find this thread in the future when their 1202X-E's are past warranty.
I'll point US tech support to this thread.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline AndrewLoomis

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 24
  • Country: us
Re: Buttons on SDS1202X-E stopped working
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2018, 01:16:44 pm »
Thanks for the reply tautech, I've contacted Siglent on their website and waiting for their reply. I'll definitely post what was wrong after its fixed.
 

Offline dmgr

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: ru
Re: Buttons on SDS1202X-E stopped working
« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2018, 07:57:40 am »
Hi..
I have the same.
And this happens spontaneously.
Europe was applying for siglent EU, they were redirected to the Russian company Prist.
Prist replied that if they did not buy from them, then we will not help.
That is, there was no help from the siglent.
The oscilloscope was bought on aliexpress, but now everything is gone.

I disassembled the oscilloscope, on the USB chip board, U33 U46 U78, and the U126 memory,
on the right, were flooded with a large layer of flux. Washed the flux, but it did not help.
Put the fan-turbine on the blowing of the processor, heated to 60 degrees, also did not help.

When the oscilloscope stops responding to the buttons, the signal is displayed.
There are cases that it hangs completely, and strange points may appear on the display.

checked on the firmware both 5.1.3.17R1 and 5.1.3.13

Now I sit I think, what else to do.
mb/sn BA
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 18689
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Buttons on SDS1202X-E stopped working
« Reply #4 on: May 29, 2018, 08:35:25 am »
Hi..
I have the same.
And this happens spontaneously.
Europe was applying for siglent EU, they were redirected to the Russian company Prist.
Prist replied that if they did not buy from them, then we will not help.
That is, there was no help from the siglent.
The oscilloscope was bought on aliexpress, but now everything is gone.

I disassembled the oscilloscope, on the USB chip board, U33 U46 U78, and the U126 memory,
on the right, were flooded with a large layer of flux. Washed the flux, but it did not help.
Put the fan-turbine on the blowing of the processor, heated to 60 degrees, also did not help.

When the oscilloscope stops responding to the buttons, the signal is displayed.
There are cases that it hangs completely, and strange points may appear on the display.

checked on the firmware both 5.1.3.17R1 and 5.1.3.13

Now I sit I think, what else to do.
mb/sn BA
Welcome to the forum.

Have you completely disassembled the scope and checked the ribbon cable to the keypad PCB is correctly seated at each end ? It carries both power for the front panel PCB and the data between both too.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline dmgr

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: ru
Re: Buttons on SDS1202X-E stopped working
« Reply #5 on: May 29, 2018, 08:43:31 am »

Yes, checked, many times. And it's not about the cable.

And if you turn on FFT, then the oscilloscope is guaranteed to freeze.
Only once I was lucky, the oscilloscope worked with FFT for a long time, but after turning on the shutdown the hangup continued.

When the oscilloscope stops reacting to the buttons, the HL2 LED stops flashing
 
The following users thanked this post: tautech

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 18689
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Buttons on SDS1202X-E stopped working
« Reply #6 on: May 29, 2018, 09:02:07 am »

Yes, checked, many times. And it's not about the cable.

And if you turn on FFT, then the oscilloscope is guaranteed to freeze.
Only once I was lucky, the oscilloscope worked with FFT for a long time, but after turning on the shutdown the hangup continued.

When the oscilloscope stops reacting to the buttons, the HL2 LED stops flashing
Thanks.
I'll seek advice from tech support.

One more question, did you try a hard power OFF, that is switch OFF at the wall not the Power button ?
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline dmgr

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: ru
Re: Buttons on SDS1202X-E stopped working
« Reply #7 on: May 29, 2018, 09:08:39 am »
One more question, did you try a hard power OFF, that is switch OFF at the wall not the Power button ?

Pressing the shutdown button did not respond to the oscilloscope. I switched off the oscilloscope only by turning off the power from the socket (220V).

It was connected to the COM (RS232) port on the board, and nothing was displayed at the moment of hang-up or disabling of the buttons in the console.
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 18689
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Buttons on SDS1202X-E stopped working
« Reply #8 on: May 29, 2018, 09:12:19 am »
One more question, did you try a hard power OFF, that is switch OFF at the wall not the Power button ?

Pressing the shutdown button did not respond to the oscilloscope. I switched off the oscilloscope only by turning off the power from the socket (220V).
Yes, of course, thanks.
We'll wait for advice from Siglent now.  :)
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline dmgr

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: ru
Re: Buttons on SDS1202X-E stopped working
« Reply #9 on: May 29, 2018, 09:33:00 am »
ok. Thank you
 

Offline dmgr

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: ru
Re: Buttons on SDS1202X-E stopped working
« Reply #10 on: May 29, 2018, 10:12:21 am »
that's the way the video is when the buttons are turned off.
watch from 2,40 minutes
https://drive.google.com/open?id=13idpUFzdaNxucB7_hok6jJOI7szyeRFI
 

Offline imo

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2636
  • Country: 00
Re: Buttons on SDS1202X-E stopped working
« Reply #11 on: May 29, 2018, 10:56:03 am »
Does it freeze always upon the same action (ie. the selecting the math function in your video)? It seems to be rather a sw issue..
« Last Edit: May 29, 2018, 10:58:17 am by imo »
 

Offline dmgr

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: ru
Re: Buttons on SDS1202X-E stopped working
« Reply #12 on: May 29, 2018, 11:20:23 am »
In mathematics as a rule, always.
And so you can turn on, do not press anything, and after a while the buttons will not work.
 

Online nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 19828
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Buttons on SDS1202X-E stopped working
« Reply #13 on: May 29, 2018, 11:41:10 am »
Based on the flux it seems they did some rework on it. By doing that they probably damaged some solder joints on the BGA chips. When the scope gets warm everything expands and the solder joint no longer makes contact and it crashes. There is nothing much you can do about this. Maybe try to reflow the entire main board again but no guarantees this will improve things. I'd try to return it to Aliexpress ASAP (open a case).
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline pascal_sweden

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1504
  • Country: no
Re: Buttons on SDS1202X-E stopped working
« Reply #14 on: May 29, 2018, 11:47:13 am »
Did OP buy it as a new scope or as a second hand?
 

Offline dmgr

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: ru
Re: Buttons on SDS1202X-E stopped working
« Reply #15 on: May 29, 2018, 11:50:45 am »
hangs and on the cold, and can hang right after switching on, if you start to twist buttons
 

Offline dmgr

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: ru
Re: Buttons on SDS1202X-E stopped working
« Reply #16 on: May 29, 2018, 12:05:31 pm »
New.
Bought in october 2017 in ali "Keysight Oscilloscope Store"

With the seller did not correspond, and late already.
And after the response of the Russian seller, upset and dismantled the oscilloscope :).
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 18689
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Buttons on SDS1202X-E stopped working
« Reply #17 on: May 29, 2018, 04:43:13 pm »
hangs and on the cold, and can hang right after switching on, if you start to twist buttons
From Siglent tech support:
I had saw his video . It seems a bug.  We are trying to reappear it.  Do you have the customer's email address or let him feedback to this email( support@siglent.com). We will find out this problem and solve it.

Please send them an email.
They will want SN# and any further info if you can get it from the System info menu page.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline Old Printer

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 574
  • Country: us
Re: Buttons on SDS1202X-E stopped working
« Reply #18 on: May 29, 2018, 04:56:02 pm »
DMGR,  Why did you buy a new scope from someone on AliExpress rather than a well known dealer with some history? I would think buying a new Siglent scope from a dealer who calls himself Keysight would be a red flag right away.
 

Offline dmgr

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: ru
Re: Buttons on SDS1202X-E stopped working
« Reply #19 on: May 29, 2018, 05:37:18 pm »
DMGR,  Why did you buy a new scope from someone on AliExpress rather than a well known dealer with some history? I would think buying a new Siglent scope from a dealer who calls himself Keysight would be a red flag right away.

I can not know all the details, but sds1202x-e already sold half a year on aliexpress. And I bought a week when they all disappeared there, I would even say that all the siglent oscilloscopes on aliexpress have disappeared.

analog sds1202x-e (akip-4131/2) is sold in Russia for $ 660 against $ 380 at that time on ali
 

Offline dmgr

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: ru
Re: Buttons on SDS1202X-E stopped working
« Reply #20 on: May 29, 2018, 05:38:22 pm »
hangs and on the cold, and can hang right after switching on, if you start to twist buttons
From Siglent tech support:
I had saw his video . It seems a bug.  We are trying to reappear it.  Do you have the customer's email address or let him feedback to this email( support@siglent.com). We will find out this problem and solve it.

Please send them an email.
They will want SN# and any further info if you can get it from the System info menu page.
ок, already sent
« Last Edit: May 29, 2018, 05:49:38 pm by dmgr »
 

Offline Old Printer

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 574
  • Country: us
Re: Buttons on SDS1202X-E stopped working
« Reply #21 on: May 29, 2018, 06:11:31 pm »
DMGR,  Why did you buy a new scope from someone on AliExpress rather than a well known dealer with some history? I would think buying a new Siglent scope from a dealer who calls himself Keysight would be a red flag right away.

I can not know all the details, but sds1202x-e already sold half a year on aliexpress. And I bought a week when they all disappeared there, I would even say that all the siglent oscilloscopes on aliexpress have disappeared.

analog sds1202x-e (akip-4131/2) is sold in Russia for $ 660 against $ 380 at that time on ali

That's a big temptation, I get it.  I hope Siglent does right by you, seems like they are listening now anyway.
 

Offline dmgr

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: ru
Re: Buttons on SDS1202X-E stopped working
« Reply #22 on: May 30, 2018, 08:51:11 pm »
the received answer from support
"We have tested this issue you posted on the eevblog but it has not yet be reproduced. Please wait and we will send you an email if the issue has been reproduced."

for interest is another video

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1FSRfg3KNEUz3tIeKXKJZlq3qc7zrCaOW/view?usp=sharing

at 3:40 min the oscilloscope freezes, but continues to show a signal.


...waiting for an answer...
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 18689
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Buttons on SDS1202X-E stopped working
« Reply #23 on: May 30, 2018, 09:15:50 pm »
Thanks for the vid.
So not a HW problem it would seem.  :phew:

Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline dmgr

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: ru
Re: Buttons on SDS1202X-E stopped working
« Reply #24 on: May 30, 2018, 09:56:30 pm »
just in case the photos of the oscilloscope and the board, both before the washing out of the flux, and after

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/17WXhoVSJry5Ruy8DDDsWxF3omuhvRl2N?usp=sharing
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf