Author Topic: Buying a bunch of probes, leads, etc. on a budget  (Read 2055 times)

Offline robdejongeTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Buying a bunch of probes, leads, etc. on a budget
« on: October 16, 2021, 04:27:57 am »
(I'm a hobbyist unburdened by any knowledge. Should I post questions like this in the beginner forum instead?)

With the acquisition of a second-hand oscilloscope, delivered with just the probes (soldering-iron damaged, no trimmer tool, the same color rings on both and no ground spring). They work just fine for the moment, but ... compared to these probes, how much worse are budget probes?

And while we're at it, I really like these modular test lead kits I've seen around for my multimeter. And then, perhaps some wires for banana to DuPont pins for easy injection of power onto a breadboard. And perhaps the BNC to alligator clips. And maybe ... and and ...

My use case: low voltage electronics, microcontrollers, simple circuits, curiosity, learning.
Other parameters: I'm on a small budget. I'm in Thailand. AliExpress is basically my only option.

My questions:

• Within its price-range (eg. $10 for a 100MHz x1/x10 probe), are Cleqee decent enough?
  • Quality-wise, how do Cleqee probes (or similarly-priced alternatives) compare to the ones I got with the scope? (let's assume they are the original GW Instek 70MHz ones)
  • Quality-wise, how are their dmm test leads and general cables?
« Last Edit: October 16, 2021, 04:33:26 am by robdejonge »

Online Fungus

• Super Contributor
Re: Buying a bunch of probes, leads, etc. on a budget
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2021, 04:35:14 am »
With the acquisition of a second-hand oscilloscope, delivered with just the probes (soldering-iron damaged, no trimmer tool, the same color rings on both and no ground spring). They work just fine for the moment, but ... compared to these probes, how much worse are budget probes?

Electrically, up to 100MHz? Not much worse at all.