Author Topic: Cables connecting Generator to Oscilloscope BNC male to BNC male  (Read 2278 times)

Offline NHSATopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Hi,

Beginner here.

Is there a length limitation in regard to shortness of this cables ? e.g. do they need to have a certain minimum length ? Can I make then for example just 1 feet long ?

Can I use RG-174 for this cables ?

Thanks in advance for any tips.

regards Rainer

• Regular Contributor
Re: Cables connecting Generator to Oscilloscope BNC male to BNC male
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2021, 05:47:51 pm »
Hi,

Question answered. Made a short cale ~ 1 feet and compared it with the one which was delivered with the Wave generator and saw no difference.

:-+

Rainer

Offline bob91343

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2021, 05:49:50 pm »
Assuming you terminate the cable in 50 Ohms, the only thing that changes with length is the delay and the amplitude.  The delay may be computed from the specs, usually somewhere around a nanosecond per foot, and the amplitude will change based on the listed attenuation per 100 feet in the cable specs.

RG-174 is fine.

The following users thanked this post: NHSA

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #3 on: June 13, 2021, 06:55:58 pm »
Assuming you terminate the cable in 50 Ohms, the only thing that changes with length is the delay and the amplitude.  The delay may be computed from the specs, usually somewhere around a nanosecond per foot, and the amplitude will change based on the listed attenuation per 100 feet in the cable specs.

RG-174 is fine.

Hi Bob,

Thank you very much. Your answer made me compare again the delivered cable and my two cables.

The delivered cable is a RG-58 an 104 cm long and my cable RG-174 is 36.5 cm long.

Comparing two equal Sine waves at 25 MHz I got a difference in timing of about 1.65 ns and comparing two of my cables I got 750 ps seconds difference and changing the Phase this is 7° in my cables.