Author Topic: Can anyone explain what's going on here?  (Read 2724 times)

Offline rhbTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Can anyone explain what's going on here?
« on: March 16, 2018, 02:47:41 am »
These are screenshots from a GW Instek MSO-2204EA  (V1.32 FW) with input from one of Leo Bodnar's 40pS pulsers using a 50 ohm thru terminator.

REF1 is a capture of CH1 moments before.  I'm using the math function to display REF1 - CH1 with CH1 in two positions relative to the step on REF1.

I'd expect DS0010.png to show very little difference.  I'd expect DS0011.png to show a large difference between the steps.  Under no circumstances can I imagine a reason for an alternating polarity 750 mV spike train as the difference.

Offline newbrain

• Super Contributor
Re: Can anyone explain what's going on here?
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2018, 08:04:43 am »
I have no knowledge of that GW Instek scope, but that's what I would expect to see if the time scale of the red difference track was compressed WRT the reference and channel 1 tracks:
  • short spikes when they are almost in phase,
  • wider ones when their phase differs some more.
Is this what that 0.08 red number right of the V/div indicates?

« Last Edit: March 16, 2018, 08:06:51 am by newbrain »
Nandemo wa shiranai wa yo, shitteru koto dake.

Offline amspire

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2018, 08:21:27 am »
Does the scope have an auto-calibration procedure?

Offline tautech

• Super Contributor
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2018, 08:48:18 am »
Reg
There's 2 issues I see possibly affecting your results.
Horizontal trigger position change between Ref waveform and Ch 1; that will affect the Math result.
AC triggering ? What's the need for it ?
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos

Offline SWR

• Regular Contributor
  • Without engineering science is just philosophy.