Author Topic: Cheapest and reliable enough clamp for AC leaks  (Read 3135 times)

Offline ThunderZedTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Cheapest and reliable enough clamp for AC leaks
« on: October 13, 2021, 06:55:02 pm »
Hi all, this is my first post and I'm a very noob!  :)
I've got a problem with current leakages in an old house. Light is turned off by anti-electrical shock switch whenever AC leakages go over 30mA and I suspect there's more than just one leakage. I can't afford enough money to buy a good AC clamp to detect low currents and my budget is only 60$. In my scenario I just need a clamp that can detect AC down to 10mA. I guess I don't need anything more accurate, I mean the worst scenario could be 3 points of leakage of 10mA each one.

A friend of mine has bought an ACM92 clamp and it can detect AC down to 2.0mA so it's my best candidate for now.
I searched anyway within this forum and found out that is the uni-t UT210E the most suggested cheap clamp for low AC measurement, isn't it? It's within my budget but when I see all its other functions (V, Ohm, etc) I wonder what's its "real value" only to measure low AC compared to the ACM92 and I'd like to listen to your opinions about that. Another question: I saw you can hack this clamp's bandwidth, could it be an advantage for me in my scenario?
Finally I'd like you to add this Zoyi-Zotek VC902 to this comparison because I saw there're a lot of you using zotek instruments so I'd give a chance to this VC902.

I'd be glad to listen to your suggestions within my budget and for my goal. Thanks in advance.

Online Gyro

• Super Contributor
Re: Cheapest and reliable enough clamp for AC leaks
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2021, 07:33:48 pm »
Hi, welcome to the forum.  :)

Yes, the UT210E is certainly the best documented (and potentially cheapest?) on the forum. It's pretty much a known entity.