Author Topic: Opinions on a Lecroy 9420 350 mhz dual channel scope?  (Read 8368 times)

Offline wadmancpuTopic starter

• Contributor
Opinions on a Lecroy 9420 350 mhz dual channel scope?
« on: August 10, 2016, 08:55:16 pm »
Hello all! I've been looking for a scope for awhile now and I came across a Lecroy 9420 350 mhz dual channel scope. I'm a beginner aside from my experience with scopes in the automotive repair field. I wasn't looking for anything real fancy but as nice as my budget would allow so I pulled the trigger on this Lecroy, should be here in a couple days. I'd like to hear opinions on this model and suggestions on some economical probes. Also, does anyone have an estimated price range for this model? I'm unsure of its value. Thanks!

Offline Wuerstchenhund

• Super Contributor
  • Able to drop by occasionally only
Re: Opinions on a Lecroy 9420 350 mhz dual channel scope?
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2016, 11:45:38 am »
Hello all! I've been looking for a scope for awhile now and I came across a Lecroy 9420 350 mhz dual channel scope. I'm a beginner aside from my experience with scopes in the automotive repair field. I wasn't looking for anything real fancy but as nice as my budget would allow so I pulled the trigger on this Lecroy, should be here in a couple days. I'd like to hear opinions on this model and suggestions on some economical probes.

Well, it's roughly 28yrs old, and while back then it was probably one of the most powerful scopes you could buy, these days it's specs aren't great (only 50k sample memory). Also, the low 100MSa/s real-time sample rate means the real-time BW is closer to 35MHz (and that is for a sine wave, for non-sine signals it'll be a lot less). It can capture repetitive signals up to 350MHz in ETS mode but that works only for a limited number of signals under specific conditions.

But that isn't a big problem if you only work with low frequency signals. And you'll get some nice measurement and analysis tools with the scope.  ;)