Author Topic: Comparing a Tektronix MSO 2024B with Hameg HMO2024  (Read 11103 times)

Offline Franz ZinnTopic starter

• Contributor
Comparing a Tektronix MSO 2024B with Hameg HMO2024
« on: March 24, 2013, 12:52:46 pm »
Hi,

I am an embedded Linux software engineer with a fascination for electronics and beginning to foray into deeply embedded systems. I have been teaching myself electronics for some time with simple tools and am now considering the purchase of an oscilloscope. My primary domain of interest is in embedded systems (ARM, AVR, PIC etc) and may be some day HAM Radio. I realize there is no limit to how much one can pay and that oscilloscopes will keep getting better, while I may probably never be able to justify the purchase of an oscilloscope again. Using other posts on this forum and Google I was able to narrow down my search to two oscilloscopes (Tektronix MSO 2024B and Hameg HMO 2024). I eliminated Agilent X2000 and X3000 series because of the price (for including serial trigger/decode options) and the key selling point being the refresh rate whose relative utility to my needs seem limited. I need an oscilloscope that is in the the 2000 GBP range, will span my range of interests and be versatile enough for many different applications. I can not seem to choose between the two mentioned systems. I would be most grateful for some reasoned opinions from the experts on this forum.

regards
franz

Online mikeselectricstuff

• Super Contributor
    • Mike's Electric Stuff
Re: Comparing a Tektronix MSO 2024B with Hameg HMO2024
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2013, 01:14:17 pm »

I eliminated Agilent X2000 and X3000 series because of the price (for including serial trigger/decode options) and the key selling point being the refresh rate whose relative utility to my needs seem limited
Agilent have just announced (or are about to) decode options and memory upgrades for the 2000X range so may be well worth a second look.