Author Topic: Oscilloscope input safety ratings  (Read 9520 times)

Offline SalasTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Oscilloscope input safety ratings
« on: October 28, 2012, 02:48:23 am »
Hi, oscilloscopes have input marks like 300VRMS CAT I. Probes have some max voltage spec too. Are they safe enough to those claims after possible high voltage practical experiences and tear down observations? Are some brands better than others to work with vacuum state circuits for instance, or to watch mains noise?

Offline Lightages

• Supporter
  • Canadian po
Re: Oscilloscope input safety ratings
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2012, 03:44:40 am »
I am no expert on oscilloscope front ends, but you should never connect an oscilloscope directly to mains. It should be done with a differential probe or other isolating device.

alm

« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2012, 01:05:05 pm »
CAT I 300 V would be enough for low energy circuits up to 300 V. This includes measuring on the secondary side of any reasonably sized power transformer. Any mains circuit will be at least CAT II.

Many scopes are also rated for something like CAT II 100-150 V. A 10x probe rated for CAT II 300 V will attenuate signals up to 300 V by 10x, so the scope only gets to see 30 V. Pay attention to the probes limits, if you exceed them the attenuation resistor/cap might short and the scope suddenly gets to see the full voltage. If the probes are of the switchable type, make sure you don't accidentally switch them to 1x. CAT II 300 V should be fine for connection to mains circuits as long as there are no high power motors or substations nearby. See Fluke's appnote 'The ABCs of multimeter safety' for a description of the overvoltage categories. Note that these ratings are for DC or low frequency AC; they are derated with frequency. The probe won't be able to handle 300 V of RF.